Switzerland County Historical Society 
200 Objects --- 200 Years
Bicentennial Stories
HomeCounty HistoryRiver HistoryAgriculture CenterReading RoomBook StoreEvents

#1: pruning hook ~ belonged to Jean Jacque Dufour
Jean Jacque Dufour, founder of Vevay, Indiana, brought this pruning hook to the United States in 1796. He gave it to his nephew, Aime Morerod who passed it on to his grand-nephew, Phillip Golay, who presented it to the Switzerland County Historical Society in 1943.
#2: pilot’s wheel ~ Robert T. Graham
The pilot's wheel from the Robert T. Graham ferryboat reminds us of the time when three locations along Switzerland County's 38 mile long shoreline had ferries. The Robert T. Graham operated from 1841-1942 and was replaced by the Martha Graham which ran until 1978. They serviced the Vevay/Ghent area. The other two ferries operated at Florence/Warsaw and Lamb/Carrollton.
#3: horse fiddle ~ noisemaker
This horse fiddle was made by Charles Hollcraft as a noisemaker to use at Hugh Cole’s shivaree. A shivaree was an old custom of performing a mock serenade of discordant noises as a practical joke on newly married couples. The horse fiddle is an example of how the everyday lives and customs of our county's residents are honored through the museum collection.
#4: Robt. E. Lee model ~ built by Harold Patterson
This is one of 12 outstanding steamboat models created by Harold Patterson, a native of Florence, Indiana. Patterson was born June 5th, 1887, and was an actor aboard the Bryant's Showboat. The highly accurate models include minute details such as gingerbread trim, carved ladders, barrels, fire axes and buckets, pilot's wheels and paddlewheels. These amazing models give an insight into the grandeur of the riverboat era.
#5: Vevay High School Letter Sweater ~ Roy Lee Branham
Behind every letter sweater there is a story. This one was provided by Roy’s widow, Mary Lib Means Branham. Roy was active in basketball and track and graduated in 1931. He was the Clerk Treasurer for the Town of Vevay for 12 years before entering WW II. He served in the European Theater, Patton’s Army and remained in the Reserves until 1972. He began working at Jefferson Proving Grounds in the early 1950s and was transferred to Aberdeen, Maryland Proving Grounds in the later 1950s where he worked until retirement in 1970. Mary Lib and Roy returned to Vevay in 1973.
#6: The Life of Benjamin Franklin ~ book owned by U. P. Schenck
Published in 1830 by G. G. Sickels in New York, this book was a treasure of U. P. Schenck who named his son Benjamin Franklin Schenck after one of his heroes. He also named sons after George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and Andrew Jackson. The title page reads “The Works of Dr. Benjamin Franklin, Consisting of Essays, Humorous, Moral, and Literary With His Life, Written by Himself”.
#7: Patriotic Banner displayed at the 1928 Switzerland County Farmer’s Fair
The First Annual Switzerland County Farmers Fair took place October 14, 15, 16 of 1926 in Vevay.  Industrial, Livestock, Farm Products, Dog, Poultry and Flower Exhibits were at the Tobacco Warehouse. Kitchen Products, Canned Products, Jellies and Needlework Exhibits were at the Public Library. The women of the county taking Nutrition Class Work under Miss Beadle of Purdue University held their Achievement Day in the Court Room. Merry-go-round and swings were on upper Market Street
#8: Sons in Service Flag ~ WWI
This monumental flag measures 9 feet X 13.5 feet. The white field surrounded by a wide red border has 389 blue stars, with gold stars sewn over 27 of them, commemorating the 27 Switzerland County servicemen who died while serving in WW I. Visit our reading room for a full listing of “Our Heroic Dead”.
#9: Mary Wright’s Muzio Clementi Piano ~ 1st piano in the State of Indiana
Upon Mary Wright’s arrival aboard a flatboat in 1817, classical music was introduced to the pioneers of Switzerland County and to the newly formed State of Indiana. A financial crash in London found the aristocratic, cultured and once wealthy John Wright bound for the United States where he could hopefully retrieve his fortune. With his wife, two daughters and son, they traveled aboard a flatboat from Pittsburgh with a beautifully fitted cabin reminiscent of their fine living in England where his daughter Mary had been an excellent pianist with a beautiful soprano voice, even presented at the court of King George III. Betrothed to her lover, Mary expected him to follow as soon as he could. Mary settled into the wilderness environment, presenting concerts for the locals in the Wright’s beautiful cabin near Five Points. Mary received a letter dashing her future hopes, discovering her beloved had married another. Mary became a recluse but still presented concerts in the wilderness cabin, where she lived to the age of 82. Long stored in an outbuilding, the piano was the first artifact donated to establish the historical society in 1925.
#10: Coffin Maker’s Account Book
The name of the craftsman is not known. The account book with entries dating from 1861-1898 was purchased by Ruth Osborn at a sale of Don King’s property in Jefferson County, and was then donated to the historical society. The Switzerland County connection is through the names of customers in the book. Ruth’s husband Nathan’s grandfather’s name, Nathan Mathes is among the accounts. Accounts also included work on wagons and various other woodworking. This is a rare and interesting insight into a business of the past.
#11: Pressure Gauge from the Delta Queen
The pressure gauge along with assorted memorabilia & postcards in our museum collection serve as nostalgic reminders of the Delta Queen. Her famed steam calliope drew locals to Markland Dam each time she locked through. She ended her travels in 2008 but can still be visited in Chattanooga, Tennessee where she is now a floating hotel and restaurant. Hope this “National Treasure” will someday be exempted as in the past and be back to traveling the inland waterways.
#12: Sewing Kit c. 1825
Eliza Craig Wright fashioned this sewing kit with scraps from her mother’s dresses. The rectangular piece has pockets for holding patches, buttons, pins, needles and thread. It was rolled up and tied with a string or ribbon, providing a very handy and compact sewing kit for travel. This style sewing kit was quite popular with soldiers during the Civil War and were affectionately called “housewifes”, having been made by their wives from scraps left over from sewing for the family.
#13 Campaign sign ~ 1896 election
The massive 11 foot wide sign crafted in tin on a wooden frame reminds us of an enthusiastic presidential campaign waged by the Democratic Party in 1896. The reverse side of the sign states: Bryan & Sewell, 16 to 1 Honest Money.” Nominated at the age of 36, William Jennings Bryan was the youngest nominee ever by a major party. A strong Populist, Bryan was a devout Christian, a supporter of popular democracy, prohibitionist, opponent of Darwinism, and enemy of the gold standard as well as banks and railroads. As a Silverite, he promoted bimetallism, the use of both silver and gold as currency at the rate of 16 ounces of silver being worth one ounce of gold. His running mate was Arthur Sewell. The heated contest found William McKinley the victor taking 23 states to Bryan’s 22 and 51% of the vote to Bryan’s 46.7%. Bryan vied three times for the presidency and is credited with inventing the National Stumping Tour, making over 500 speeches in the 1896 campaign.
Vevay's Bicentennial was in 2013 and Switzerland County’s was in 2014. A special project to honor our past is shared here through 200 images of artifacts, photographs and documents in our museum collections, with captioning and significance that relays their part in our local history. These varied bits of information and research when viewed as a whole become just part of the story of the people, places and happenings of Switzerland County, Indiana. 
January -  click any small image to load the slides.
February -  click any small image to load the slides.
#14 Spinning wheel ~ Belonged to Mary Banta Thiebaud
Mary Thiebaud’s spinning wheel is now back at home in the recently restored Thiebaud house, its provenance discovered in old minutes of the historical society.  Upon examination, imagine our delight in finding a piece of adhesive tape with Mary’s name on one of two spinning wheels in the museum collection. Further confirmation was discovered in a photograph of Mary at her spinning wheel. The other good news is the spinning wheel has been evaluated and can be restored to working order. So during the Rural Heritage Tour on September 27th and 28th of 2014, the wheel will be back in use, as it was over 150 years ago.
#15: Clara Betts Bakes Letter ~ First woman to vote in a presidential election
	Amid a collection of family papers donated by Michael Bakes, was revealed a letter written to Clara Betts Bakes, from her teacher at Jacksonville School, R. E. Hall. Robert Elwood Hall had served in the Civil War as Captain of Company “C” 7th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers. (His sword is part of the museum’s military collection.)
#16: Naturalization document ~ James Ferrell, 1818
A collection of 165 naturalization documents have been carefully cleaned, stored in acid free sleeves, placed in binders and indexed for easy access by researchers. Each records an emigrant’s name, country of origin, and date of birth, then a statement to renounce their citizenship to their foreign sovereignty is given as they declare an oath to become a citizen of the United States. The documents from the early 1800s until the 1840s are all handwritten and provide the most detail. Documents from the 1850s are printed and blanks are filled in with the proper names, dates, and countries. The early documents are more detailed with specific cantons, principalities, or downs given.
#17: Old Betts ~ a cannon with a history
All that remains of Old Betts is a few pieces of iron and quite a history. The following excerpt from the January 10th, 1889 edition of the Vevay Reveille serves to tell her story up until that time. “That old cannon has been in Vevay since about 1820, when pioneer Swiss organized an artillery company...They had all been schooled in artillery in Switzerland...The company was reorganized in 1824, and Vincent Dufour was elected Captain, Benj Detraz 1st Lieutenant and Geo Kessler 2nd Lieutenant. When in 1825, it was announced that Gen. Lafayette was to be in Cincinnati, there was joyful excitement among the French and Swiss, and when a formal invitation was extended to the artillery company to be present with their gun, everybody in Vevay felt complimented. The gun was rubbed up, new uniforms obtained, and the company left Vevay amidst cheers, many citizens accompanying them. At Cincinnati they were received with special honors. Of the many artillery companies present the Swiss of Vevay excelled all others in their accuracy of drill and rapidity of firing. Gen. Lafayette shook hands with each member of the company, complimented them for their superior efficiency as artilleryists...
#18: Civil War sword of General Ebenezer Dumont
	Ebenezer Dumont was born November 23, 1814, in Vevay, Indiana. He studied law, was admitted to the bar and began practice in Vevay. He served as a member of the Indiana House of Representatives in 1838, and from 1839 to 1845 was treasurer of Vevay. In the Mexican War, Dumont was a captain and lieutenant colonel of the 4th of Indiana Volunteers. He was a presidential elector for Franklin Pierce in 1842, and again served as a member of the Indiana House of Representatives from 1850 to 1853.
#19: Bullet mold brought from Switzerland by Frederick Thiebaud in 1817. Donated by his grandson, M. D. Thiebaud, January 1928.
Frederick & Harriet Thiebaud emigrated from Vevey, Switzerland, Canton of Neuchatel, with their children: Emily, Julia, Phillipine, Justine, Augustine, Charles, and Justi. After their transatlantic voyage they arrived in Philadelphia, then traveled by Conestoga wagons overland across the Alleghenies to Pittsburgh, where they booked passage on a keelboat that took them to their new home three miles west of Vevay, Indiana, along the Ohio River. 
	The 164+ acres they settled is now the site of the developing Agriculture Museum Center project of the Switzerland County Historical Society.
#20: Boy Scout uniform & manual ~ Kenny Turner’s
Kenny Turner has fond memories and pride in having belonged to Troop 14 of the Boy Scouts of America in Vevay, Indiana. He recollects being an active member starting about 1958. Thurman Roberts and Roy Downing led the group of about 20 members, meeting at the Baptist Church and going on campouts to General Butler Park and along creeks in Switzerland County. Kenny feels Boy Scouts not only gave them something fun to do, but helped them learn some interesting stuff and taught important values.
#21: Bandolier bag ~ Woodland tribe
This intricately beaded bandolier bag was discovered in the attic of the Trafelet family home. The design is typical of the Northeastern Woodland tribes that lived in our area north to the Great Lakes. The structure of the bag was fashioned after pouches carried by British soldiers. The floral design is composed of fine glass seed beads. The bandolier bag was worn by men as a sign of high prestige. The Trafelet line dates back to 1848 when Daniel Trafelet emigrated from Switzerland.
#22: Grand Army of the Republic, Descriptive Book, William F. Davis Post No. 214 ~ Organized Aug. 3rd, 1883, 84 Members, most members in Patriot. 
The spread sheet format includes the following categories: name, age, birthplace, residence, occupation, entry into service (date, rank, company, regiment), discharge information, length of service, cause of discharge, date of muster into G. A. R., under remarks the date of death is given, the last being in 1933.
Giving an insight into the trades of the time, occupations include milling, merchant, physician, saloon, farmer, butcher, cooper, physician, wharfmaster, mechanic, preacher, trader, boatman, blacksmith, shoemaker, laborer, & electrician.
Also within the museum collection is the G. A. R. Descriptive Book for Major Patton Post No. 157, noting residences in Lamb, Mt. Sterling, Markland, Moorefield, Vevay and townships within Switzerland County. Occupations include farmer, huckster, merchant, blacksmith, cabinet maker, pilot, laborer, steamboatman, physician, engineer, sheriff, carpenter, insurance agent, druggist, lawyer, livery stable keeper, carriage painter, mechanic, clerk, barkeeper, stonemason, wagon maker, undertaker, drayman, editor, saloon keeper, and meat dealer.
#23: Knapping hammer, belonged to Tommy O’Day, veteran of “The Charge of the Light Brigade”
John Thomas O’Day was born in Dublin, Ireland in 1833. When only 7 years old, he left his home and found employment in Wales with a friend of his father. It was while he was there that he received his education at night school. When 14 years old he went to Bristol where he enlisted in the Drum and Fife Corps of the English Army. While in this service he received no pay but board and clothing. At the sage of 18 he was sent to Aldershot and was stationed with the Calvary. After three months training under his brother he was ordered to Crimea. 
O’Day was one of the last survivors of the famous battle of Balaklava. “In the lineup for the battle, the Turks were placed in the center between the English and French troops to prevent them from deserting,” Mr. O’Day said. “Men were mown down by scores. I was one of the 11 who answered to roll call after the battle. Many who were wounded survived.”
The famous battle in which the light troopers made a two-mile dash at a Russian army corps in the face of a heavy artillery cross-fire is immortalized in the poem, “The Charge of the Light Brigade” by Alfred Lord Tennyson.
At the end of the war the regiment was sent to Canada, where Mr. O’Day received his discharge. He soon came to the United States and took out naturalization papers. After a bit of travel Tommy O’Day moved to Switzerland County where he worked on the turnpike being built between Vevay and Moorefield. When the road was completed Tommy settled on a farm along Indian Creek, married and reared four children. O’Day died in 1926 at the age of 93.
#24: The Vevay Doily by Mrs. Jacob Wahl
A 1927 issue of NEEDLECRAFT MAGAZINE showcased the pattern for the Vevay Doily designed by Mrs. J. Wahl. Museum files with Wahl obituaries and articles all referred to Mrs. J. Wahl. Her first name was finally discovered in Wanda Morford’s Cemetery Book, sharing a headstone with her husband. Carlena’s work was displayed at the 1915 Panama-Pacific Exposition in San Francisco. Her pattern for the Vevay doily begins: Crochet cotton No. 80 was used for this very attractive doily, which measures twelve inches across when completed. Coarser thread will give a corresponding increase in size, No. 20 in ecru, resulting in a very handsome table-center. Copies of the pattern directions are available at the museum.
#25: Nutting stone, Archaic and Woodland Period 
The Archaic Period of 8,000 to 2,000 years BC was a time of hunter-gather societies in Eastern North America. Hardwood forests produced an abundance of nuts, which were an important source of food. “Nutting stones” were used for nut processing. Some naturally occurring stones with useful indentations were utilized, but some stones were purposefully created. The common feature for this stationery stone that was set on the ground was cuplike indentations of varying depths suitable for holding a pecan, walnut or other type nut. The nut would be cracked open when struck by a hand-held stone. A collection of stone tools found in Switzerland County gives an insight into the lifestyle of the county’s earliest inhabitants.
#26: Rope bumper ~ marine folk art
Handmade rope bumpers were crafted from old rope lines. This was marine folk art with a function, with the sturdy rope bumpers cushioning the impact when a boat or barge hits a hard surface such as a lock chamber, pier or dock. In river lore they may be referred to as a “possum” since when lifted by the rope handle the bumper looks like an animal being held by the tail.
#27: Books by Edward Eggleston
Eggleston was born on December 10, 1837 at 306 West Main Street in Vevay, now listed on the National Register of Historic Sites. Eggleston’s devout Christian faith led to his early career as a circuit rider and pastor. Later work as an editor of magazines and newspapers led to his life’s work as an author, which he continued until his death in 1902.
Eggleston is best known for his first novel, The Hoosier Schoolmaster (1871), acknowledged as the first book to be written in the rural Hoosier dialect. Later novels include The End of the World (1872), The Circuit Rider (1874), Roxy (1878), The Mystery of Metropolisville (1873), and The Faith Doctor (1891). Many of the characters and settings of Eggleston’s novels are based on memories of Vevay and Switzerland County, while others reflect his experiences while living in Minnesota and New York City.
#28: City of Louisville Boat Model
This model was built by George D. Wright of Brooksburg, Indiana. He died in 1940 and was the son of Will T. Wright, editor and publisher of the Brooksburg Courier and the Waterways Journal. The model was donated in 1953 by Tom Bondurant and his sister Elizabeth Patterson in memory of their father Capt. Graham Bondurant, lockmaster at Dam 39.
The City of Louisville steamboat was a super boat and was the pride of Commodore Laidley of the Louisville & Cincinnati Packet Line. Launched in 1894, she had 72 staterooms, could sleep 160 passengers and carried an excursion permit for 1,500 passengers. She made her record run on April 19, 1894 leaving Louisville at 3 pm and arrived in Cincinnati 9 hours, 42 minutes later, which has never been bettered. Legend has it that she would sometimes sink shanty boats, break loose coal barges and throw fish out on the shore. Captain Charles Dufour of Vevay was one of her first pilots. She was lost in the ice of 1918.
#29: Cuspidor from the Delaney House
Accommodations for tobacco chewers has certainly changed over the years. Spittoons or cuspidors were once commonplace in public buildings like hotels and banks. This one was once part of the furnishings at the Delaney House, later known as the Phoenix Hotel, later yet the site of Sullivan’s Pharmacy and is now the Switzerland County Visitors Center.
The stories around some of the objects are just too long to fit in a photo caption. Read more on the full story of: Clara Bakes Letter - Civil War Sword - Cuspidor - Naturalization Document - Old Betts
March -  click any small image to load the slides.
Backing bell from the steamer “Julius Fleischmann” 
According to the Western Steamboat Glossary: backing bell – middle tone used for signaling the engineer
The “Julius Fleischmann” was built at Jeffersonville, Indiana and was called the "Harry Anderson" for a brief period before receiving the name "Julius Fleischmann." She was owned by the Hatfield Coal Company and towed between the Kanawha River in West Virginia and Louisville, so she would have traveled frequently past the Switzerland County shoreline. She struck a rock and sank on the Kanawha on July 27, 1930. On that date the Madison Courier reported, "The steamer, Julius Fleischmann, coal towboat, owned by the Hatfield Campbell Creek Coal Company, Cincinnati, sank in eight feet of water at Gallipolis, Ohio, yesterday after hitting an obstruction in Kanawha River near Lock No. 11. The boat was valued at $100,000. Capt. Loyal Wright, master of the steamer, the largest towboat operating in the Kanawha River fleet, said she could be refloated by divers. She was proceeding up the river with a tow of empty coal barges to be reloaded at the Plymouth Mines." The "Julius Fleischmann" was raised and worked until 1945 when, on March 21, the Courier announced, "The towboat Julius Fleischmann, bound upriver, capsized near the Ohio shore opposite lower Catlettsburg today. Charles Simmons, stationed at the repair terminal of the Ashland Oil and Refining Company, opposite the scene, said he saw a flash aboard the vessel just before it keeled over. Captain W. D. Kimble of Portsmouth, Ohio, pilot of the vessel, said there were no casualties. Simmons said a tow of 12 barges had been anchored by several small vessels, which rushed to the spot."
The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
The 128 volumes of the “Official Records” provides the most comprehensive, authoritative and voluminous reference on Civil War operations. The reports are those of the principal leaders who fought the battles and then wrote their assessments days, weeks, and sometimes months later. Eyewitness accounts of the veterans themselves. The set was donated in 1924 by Capt. Elwood Hall and W. R. Protsman. (Capt. Hall’s Civil War sword is also in the museum collection.)
A History of Switzerland County’s Part in the World War by Earl S. Brown, 1919
Quote from the Foreword of this book: In publishing this history of Switzerland County’s part in the World War it is not the intention of the writer to attempt to give to the public a history of the World War itself, but to portray the valiant deeds of our gallant soldiers and to tell of the patriotic things accomplished by citizens who remained at home.
Army gear of Ulia James Cole
The museum’s “Veterans Remembered” collection includes artifacts from the Civil War through Desert Storm. (Due to space, not all items from the collection are on display at all times.) The military gear pictured belonged to Ulia James Cole, fifth child of Ottie and Lelia Sigmon Cole, 04/30/1932. He was born in a log cabin at the bottom of Drake’s Ridge Road where Indian Creek meets Little Indian Creek. It was the home of his grandparents James and Viola Picket Cole. (As remembered by his sister Estene Leap.)
 Hoadley Grandfather Clock
This American maple and pine longcase clock was made by Silas Hoadley of Plymouth, Connecticut. It is a prime example of the neo-classical Federal period which lasted from 1790 to 1805 in the East and to 1820 in the Midwestern frontier. The clock stands 7.25 feet tall and has clock works made of wood. The eagle shows the patriotism of the period. (The glass front was removed for a clearer picture.)
The clock belonged to Amelie McGuire LeClair, born in Vevay on July 31, 1898 to Ella Nora Bersot McGuire, daughter of Julius Bersot, a very early resident of the county.
Teakwood clock from the Schenck Mansion
The massive teakwood clock once graced the outstanding Second Empire-style mansion built by Benjamin Franklin Schenck in 1874. B. F. Schenck was an attorney and also worked in the family shipping business led by his father Ulysses P. Schenck, known as the Hay King. The clock was handcarved in Switzerland.
Spanish American War medal & ribbon, Frank P. Dupraz
The Spanish American War was a conflict in 1898 between Spain and the United States, the result of American intervention in the Cuban War of Independence. Frank Dupraz, Jr. enlisted in the Eighteenth U. S. Infantry and served in the Philippines and other islands in the Far East. Returning home he was elected City Treasurer. Later he became manager of the Farmers Telephone Company. Still later he was employed in the government river service and the dairy business of which his family were the pioneers in Vevay. He was born in Vevay, Indiana on February 9, 1877 and died February 11, 1942. Frank P. Dupraz, Sr. moved to Vevay, Indiana in 1850 and worked as a carpenter. In 1852 he went on the river as a pilot, continuing in that work until 1867, at which time he established a wharf-boat which he operated until 1872. He then became a farmer. His father was Pierre Francois Dupraz, born in Blonay, Canton de Vaud in Switzerland
 Straw hat worn by grape pickers
From the Swiss Settlement of Switzerland County, Indiana by Perret Dufour: “During the year 1804 and 1805 the lands began to be cleared up more rapidly, so that in 1805 a considerable crop of wheat was raised, the straw being saved in a very neat manner to be made into Straw hats. The Dufour sisters made a great many of these hats. On one of the trips to Cincinnati by some of the colonists, Mr. Morerod took up with him two or three dozen of these hats. While going up the street with these hats on his shoulder, a crowd ran after him to see what he had. When they saw what he had they bought freely and he sold nearly all of them along the street at from two dollars and fifty cents to three dollars each.”
U. S. Candle Signal Light
Signal lights were furnished by the U. S. Lighthouse Service to mark mileages, channel crossings, or areas of danger for steamboat pilots. Very few of these lights held candles, which were 1½ inches in diameter. Candles were mounted on a spring, which regulated the light as the candle burned down.
Lead weight
Weights of this type were fastened to the ends of painted rope and cast off the head of the boat by a “leadsmen” to read the depth of the water, which is a “sounding”. A “sounding line” would mark fathom points. A fathom = 6 feet, originally based on the distance between a man’s outstretched arms. A leadsmen would use terms for some of the numbers, such as “twain” for “two”.  “Two fathoms” = “twain”. So for a depth of 12 feet, which would be 2 fathoms, they would call “by the mark twain”. The American writer and humorist Mark Twain, a former river pilot, likely took his name from this cry.
#39: The Family of Mrs. Louise E. Bettens (Born Rochat)
The Switzerland County Historical Society has a wealth of original documents and family genealogy files. These books are among them.
Two lovely volumes were commissioned by Edward D. Bettens to honor his mother, Mrs. Louise E. Rochat Bettens:
“
#40: Bugle from the Civil War
William A. Reser of Vevay served with the 37th Regiment of the Indiana Volunteers during the Civil War as a musician from 1861-1864. He was bugler for his outfit. The bugle, discharge and mementos were kept through the years by his youngest daughter Nella Reser Trimble and given to the museum at her death by her grandniece, Juanita Detmer of Patriot, Indiana.
#41: Sewing kit, Civil War era
This sewing kit was carried by John T. Huston of Company F, Twenty-second Regiment of the Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He enlisted July 9, 1861 and was discharged July 24, 1865 at Louisville. Born January 29, 1835 and died June 7, 1910, John is buried in the Eastview Cemetery in Posey Township.
#42: Ivory fan, c. 1870s
This lovely ivory fan belonged to Josephine Detraz Shadday, who married John Shadday, M. D. in August of 1876. They resided in Vevay where Dr. Shadday had his practice. Josephine was born in 1848 and died in 1929. Dr. Shadday also died that year. They are buried together in the Vevay Cemetery, along with their son Harry, born August 23, 1877 and died July 9, 1878.
Josephine, affectionately known as Aunt Jo, was a charter member of the Eggleston Club, honorary president of the Alumni Association, a charter member and director of the Switzerland County Historical Society, an ardent member of the W. C. T. U. (Women’s Christian Temperance Union) and a life-long member of the Vevay Presbyterian Church. Her education was acquired in the Vevay Public Schools, where in 1867 she was a member of the first class graduated from the high school. Later she taught in the grade school for a number of years.
Mrs. Shadday was born, married, lived all her life, and died in the house on Market Street occupied by her parents (Benjamin and Lucille) before her.
#43: WWI, U. S. Army Victory Medal
Leon C. Buschman earned this medal for his service in WWI. The reverse side of the medal reads: “The Great War for Civilization” and lists “France, Italy, Serbia, Montenegro, Russia, Greece, Great Britain, Belgium, Portugal, Rumania, China”.
His headstone at the Vevay Cemetery reads: Leon C. Buschman, Ind. Chief Mech Btry B. 139 FA, W. W. I. b. Feb. 12, 1898 d. Sep. 3, 1971.
He worked and retired from Dam 39 in Switzerland County, now known as Markland Dam. The “Reflections of the Past” in Vevay Newspapers 3/29/12 noted under 80 years ago: Tom Bondurant and Leon Buschman have purchased a glider and have taken it to Dam 39 where the young men will attempt to fly it from the esplanade at the Dam.
#44: Brass powder flask
Benjamin Thomas Heady was purported to have carried this brass powder flask while serving in the Civil War, Company B, One Hundred and Fortieth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry.
They organized at Indianapolis, Ind., and mustered in October 24, 1864. Left State for Nashville, Tenn., November 15; thence moved to Murfreesboro, Tenn. Attached to 1st Brigade, Defences Nashville & Chattanooga Railroad, Dept. of the Cumberland, to January, 1865. 3rd Brigade, 3rd Division, 23rd Army Corps, Army of the Ohio, to February, 1865, and Dept. of North Carolina to July, 1865. Service: Siege of Murfreesboro, Tenn., December 5-12, 1864. Near Murfreesboro December 13-14. March to Columbia December 24-28, thence to Clifton, Tenn., January 2-6, 1865. Movement to Washington, D. C.; thence to Fort Fisher, N. C., January 16-February 7. Arrive at Fort Fisher, N. C., February 7. Operations against Hoke February 11-14. Fort Anderson February 18-19. Town Creek February 19-20. Capture of Wilmington February 22. Campaign of the Carolinas March 1-April 26. Advance on Goldsboro March 6-21. Occupation of Goldsboro March 21. Gulley's March 31. Advance on Raleigh April 10-14. Occupation of Raleigh April 14. Bennett's House April 26. Surrender of Johnston and his army. Duty at Raleigh till May 6, and at Greensboro till July. Mustered out July 11, 1865.
#45: Powder horn
Used to hold gunpowder, early powder horns were crafted from cow or buffalo horn. They were naturally waterproof and hollow inside. A strap made them convenient to wear and easy to use when loading muzzleloaders. A popular old saying “Keep your powder dry” was a way of wishing someone well, to think ahead and be prepared.
#46: Watch and chain
This watch was worn by Mattie Anderson Davis (1854-1933), wife of D. A. Davis (1856-1922). Mattie was the daughter of Thomas and Mary Anderson, early pioneers of Switzerland County. On November 29, 1882, she was united in marriage to David A. Davis. For many years Mr. and Mrs. Davis conducted a shoe business on Pike Street in Vevay. They were both faithful members of the Vevay Baptist Church.
#47: Ornament from the first “Island Queen”
The first “Island Queen” was an excursion boat, built at the Cincinnati Marine Railways Company in 1896. Owned by the Coney Island Company, Cincinnati, and operated between that city and the Coney Island Amusement Park nine miles upriver. She “tramped” in off seasons, including to Vevay and up the Kentucky River. Burned at Cincinnati, November 4, 1922, alongside three other steamboats, the Tacoma, Morning Star and Chris Greene.
#48: Boss Perfection No. 6 Washing Machine
Manufactured in Cincinnati, Ohio in the early 1900s, this wooden machine was manually agitated with a rocking motion. The wringer is a Pioneer No. 22, manufactured in Erie, Pennsylvania. These were used by Zora Shadday, granddaughter of Murel Blodget.
#49: Valentine
The hand-colored Valentine was sent by Rodolph Frederick Grisard to Isabelle Dumont in 1855. The couple was married on April 19, 1855.
April -  click any small image to load the slides.
#51: “My Hills”, an essay by Effa Morrison Danner
Effa Danner was the founding president of the Switzerland County Historical Society in 1925. She was a prolific writer, providing much of the history of the county through writings that were published in the Vevay Newspapers.
#52: Needlework by Aunt Lucie Morerod Detraz, one of the county’s early Swiss descendants.
#53: Wine press, belonged to Benjamin Detraz
The following remembrance of Benjamin Detraz is from “The Dufour Saga” by Julie LeClerc Knox (a relative) published in 1942. He was a carpenter and contractor and married Lucille Marguerite Morerod in 1827.
Uncle Ben was born November 10th, 1792 in Vevey, Switzerland. He was of a genial disposition, sympathetic and charitable. He attended college in his native land but was extremely modest and retiring and few knew how well educated he was. His father wished him to be either a lawyer or a minister but he preferred mechanics.
His death which occurred October 7th, 1869, was occasioned by a fall from one of his houses which he was helping to shingle. His wife, like Caesar’s Calipurnia, had a premonition of tragedy and begged him not to take the risk of such a dangerous task at his age (seventy seven) but, manlike, he ridiculed her fears. He fell about fourteen feet, directly on his head and death was instant.
#54: Violin crafted by Jacobus Stainer
This rare violin was owned by John W. Howard, the leading agriculturist in York Township in the mid-1800s, at one time owning 1,721 acres and harvesting as much as 4,000 bushels of wheat in a single year. The violin was passed down to his grandson, Dr. Hatton,
#55: Patent Model & Patent Papers, June 5, 1866, for “Improved Steering Apparatus” for a steamboat
Patent applicants: Capt. Frank Dupraz, Sr. (1835-1905), Sidney Dumont (1835-1890), and John Dickason (1827-1914).
#56: Steam whistle
This steam whistle, known as a “wildcat” whistle, once “spoke” aboard the steam towboat WYNOKA. It was so loud and powerful that it was said to have terrorized the valley dwellers whenever it blew. There is an imprint of a bullet near the top of the whistle, the supposed result of having been shot at by an annoyed shantyboater.
#57: GAR Badge
The Grand Army of the Republic badge was authorized by Congress to be worn on the uniform of the Union veterans. After the end of the American Civil War, organizations were formed for veterans to network and maintain connections with each other. Many of the veterans used their shared experiences as a basis for fellowship. Groups of men began joining together, first for camaraderie and later for political power. Emerging as most influential among the various organizations was the Grand Army of the Republic, founded on April 6, 1866, on the principles of “Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty”.
May -  click any small image to load the slides.
The stories around some of the objects are just too long to fit in a photo caption. Read more on the full story of:
Effa Danner Essays,  Needlework  Steam WhistleGAR Badge
#58: Dress made by Antoinette Detraz Titus
The dress was embroidered by Antoinette Detraz with wool yarn using the tapestry stitch on raw silk. Antoinette was the daughter of Lucille Morerod Detraz (1806-1903) and Benjamin Detraz (1792-1869). She married James Titus June 29, 1853 and died March 4, 1854 at the age of 24.
#59: Sugar Firkin
The pine staves forming the sides of this firkin are held together with bentwood bands. According to Evelyn Craig in 1954 when this covered firkin was donated to the museum, it was used to store sugar. It measures 12 inches across the base and is 12 inches tall.
#60: Silver plated water pitcher 
Mounted on a tilt pouring cradle stand, this pitcher is engraved with the following:
March 8th, 1837 – 1880
Birthday present to Rev. S. S. McMahan
From Members & friends of the M. E. Church
Vevay, Ind
Solomon McMahan was minister of the Vevay Methodist Church from 1877-1879
#61: Music book, Mary Wright
Mary Wright emigrated from England to Switzerland County with her parents in 1817, bringing her Muzio Clementi piano to the pioneer wilderness. She performed concerts in their log home near Five Points, playing from bound volumes of music. (Refer to item # 9 for a more complete history of Mary Wright.)
The music is a memory of popular music of the time. Examples include “Life Let us Cherish” composed by Mozart, printed by Muzio Clementi; “Yo heave Ho” written and composed by Mr. Dibbin; “Lira Lira La” by D. Arnold; “The Berks of Endermay”, a favorite Scotch song; “Still the Lark Finds Repose”, a favorite rondo by T. Linley; “Distress me with these Tears no more” by William Shield; Gin a Body Meet a Body”, an ancient Scotch Song composed by David Retzzo in the Sixteenth Century; “Come Upon These Yellow Sands”, a favorite song in the Tempest composed by Mr. Henry Purcell; “Rule Britannia”, a Grand National Air composed by D. Arne.
#62: Hair wreath, Thiebaud family
A fancywork especially popular in the 1850s to 1870s was the intricate creating of floral designs from human hair. Some were done as memorials, crafted from hair of deceased family members. Others were made to serve as reminders of family and friends. This particular wreath was made in 1865, dated and labeled, which is quite rare. A numbered key identifies family members and spouses of those married, honoring Mr. Justi Thiebaud, his wife Mrs. Mary Thiebaud and their family. The hair flowers were arranged in a common Victorian symbol for good luck, the horseshoe, displayed with open ends up, to hold in the luck. The wreath is in a shadow-box type frame (not shown in the picture).
#63: Paperweight collection of Paul Ogle
Remembered as a great benefactor and supporter of economic development in Switzerland County and southern Indiana, Paul Ogle (June 18, 1907 – March 21, 1989) has genealogy ties to early settlers in the county. A Vevay native, Paul was owner and president of Silgas, which was one of the largest independent dealers of natural gas in the US. Starting out in Vevay selling bottled gas, Paul later moved his business to Sellersburg and then Jeffersonville serving dealers in the Cincinnati, Louisville, and Indianapolis triangle. (Find the Silgas paperweight!) Before his Silgas career, Paul was a bandleader and saxophone player, playing in Lou Perry & the Footwarmers and the Royal Dictators, among others.
#64: “Mason’s Sacred Harp” or “Eclectic Harmony: A Collection of Church Music” by Lowell Mason, revised edition, 1848.
The “sacred harp” is your voice, the musical instrument you were given at birth. The music is written with “shape notes”. “Shape notes” refers to the musical notation being shown in shapes of triangle, oval, rectangle and diamond. 
Sacred Harp music is sung a cappella with seating in a “hollow square”. Pews and chairs are arranged in rows on four sides so the singers can see and hear each other, with each side representing one of the four parts of music: treble, alto, tenor and bass. A room with no carpet or drapes is preferred so the sound can resonate. The singing is loud and spiritual.
#65: Switzerland Baptist Church embroidered signature cloth, 1897
Signature quilts and cloths were done as fund raisers. People could have their name embroidered on for a fee, and then the finished piece could be auctioned. The money raised would be used to support various causes, like missionary work or supporting troops. 

They are now being used by genealogists, historians, sociologists and cultural anthropologists as primary documents for research. They can serve as material evidence to document someone was in a certain area in a particular period of time. They can indicate family and community relationships, sometimes a religious, political or organizational tie.

Over 500 names are embroidered on this linen cloth. The surnames are: Anderson, Ayers,  Bair, Banta, Barnes, Barnett, Bear, Beck, Belden, Bell, Benedict, Boerner, Bonner, Bowen, Brindley, Bristow, Brosius, Brown, Campbell, Claghorn, Clark, Clendenning, Clevenger, Cole, Collop, Coleman, Cotton, Cox, Craig, Culbertson, Curry, Dahman, Danglade, Davidson, Davis, Demann, Detraz, Dibble, Drake, Dyer, Eaglin, Eddy, Eirwien, Fallis, Firth, Fisk, Froman, Glaser, Goley, Gordon, Graham, Gramer, Griffith, Grisard, Hall, Hartford, Haskell, Henry, Hilderbrand, Hitchens, Holcraft, Huffman, James, Johnson, Joyce, Kelley, Kendall, Kern, Kiesel, Kincaid, Knox, Lamson, Lanham,  Larrison, Lauschner, Lawrence, Leap, LeClerc, Lewis, Livings, Long, Lukens, Lyons, Malcomson, Marble, McKay, McMacken, Miller, Mills, Moffett, Morris, Mottier, Moxley, Netherland, Northcott, Oakley, Ogle, Parrott, Peelman, Perryman, Peters, Porter, Poston, Rayl, Reinecke, Resor, Roberts, Robinson, Rochat, Schenck, Scott, Shadday, Shafer, Shaw, Sieglitz, Sigmon, Simmons, Smith, Spears, Stearns, Stepleton, Stevenson, Stratford, Stucy, Sullivan, Sulzer, Tait, Tandy, Tardy, Taylor, Teats, Thiebaud, Tilley,  Todd, Told, Trafelet, VanPelt, Wahl, Wainscott, Walton, Waltz, Weales, Webb, Williamson, Woolen, Worden, Works, Yonge, Zook.
#66: Helvetian Artillerists posting, March 7, 1825
              The French-Swiss Artillery from Switzerland County were renowned, evidenced in the following excerpt from The Swiss Settlement of Switzerland County by Perret Dufour.
              On the visit of General Lafayette to Cincinnati in 1825
              On their arrival, they were met at the landing by members of the Committee of arrangements, and by members of the artillery Company of Cincinnati. As the Swiss boys were about hauling their gun up the bank by hand one of the officers of the day informed them that in a short time a span of horses would arrive to take the gun up to enter in the procession to be formed. In a short time a span of fine blacks was hitched to the gun and the Swiss boys, marching along in martial order, soon became the observed of the all the observers. The exercise of firing was very good and the two companies vied with each other which should excel. The Vevay Company by the rapidity with which they fired their gun, so far outdid the Cincinnati Company, that they received the praise of every person, and even General Lafayette, who was introduced to the Captain and his men by John James Dufour the father of the Captain of the Company, gave them the praise of being the most accurate in artillery tactics of any company he had met with on his present visit to the United States. Lafayette enquired of the Captain and his men where they had received instruction in artillery tactics, and had quite a lengthy conversation with them. On being informed that they had come about 70 miles up the river, he replied “My friends you have put yourselves to a great inconvenience to come so far to see me, who am only a man.”
#67: Bloodletting tool
Bloodletting, or phlebotomy, was an ancient system of medicine used up until the late 19th century. Medical treatment was based on the concept of four “humors” in the body: blood, yellow bile, phlem, and black bile. It was believed that physical and mental distress resulted when these humors were out of balance. Phlebotomy was used to re-establish the balance through the release of blood. The body then was rebuilt through tonics and restoratives.
#68: “Orioles” of Vevay, Ind. baseball team, 1920
From our photo archives
On the back of this postcard the following names are listed: Jess Curry; Gray; H. Shannan; C. Brindley; Braungal; M. Williamson; G. Broadwell; H. Garvey; S. Cole; H. Sullivan; F. Pelsor; W. Dickerson; Ebbinghaus; T. Pelsor; E. Jaynes; E. Sullivan; Zink.
#69: Presbyterian Church Communion & Baptismal Service
The Switzerland County Historical Museum resides in the building that was formerly the Presbyterian Church. 
Engraved:
1909
From the Bible Class
Mrs. R.J.L. Matthews, Teacher
Class ~ Mrs. E.E. Scudder, T.J. Simons, W.L. Mennett, Mrs. H.E. Carnine, I.M. Lanham, Josephine Boerner, Misses Julia Dufour & Anna Boerner
#70: Communion Service, Presbyterian Church
Presented by Mr. & Mrs. Charles Sieglitz, inscription reads:
In memory of John Paul Sieglitz
April 24th 1892~January 16th 1903
Of such is the kingdom of God
Luke 18-16
#71: Presbyterian Ladies Aid Society, 1890
The church now serves as the Switzerland County Historical Museum.
Among those pictured is Mrs. Fred Grisard, Mrs. Billie Baird, Miss Julia Dufour, Mrs. Zellie Jagers, Josphine Shadday, Mrs. Boerner, Mrs. Shuff, Rilla Mennet, Mayme Grisard, Carrie Younge Golay, Mrs. Doan, Aunt Lucy Detraz, Mrs. Julia LeClerc, Mrs. James Dyer, Julia Williams, Adele Banta, Alice Yonge, Ella Stevens.
#72: Iron hall tree from the home of Frederick & Zella Grisard
Married April 24, 1828, the hall tree was a wedding gift. According to Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County, Capt. Frederick Grisard, Sr. was born in Canton Berne, Switzerland, August 14, 1808. He emigrated with his parents when he was ten years old. 
“In 1825 he was apprenticed to learn the blacksmith trade in Cincinnati, and served three years. He worked at his trade in Vevay until 1845…He then went into the general hardware business. While engaged in his trade he also made agricultural implements, manufactured the first steel plow ever used in Switzerland County, and assisted in building the first steam engine ever used in Vevay.”
“Almost from his boyhood Mr. Grisard was captain of an artillery company organized at Vevay, and when the Civil War broke out, he was appointed by Gov. Oliver P. Morton captain of a company of an artillery mounting three pieces. This connection was the immediate cause of his losing heavily. His large warehouse and store-rooms, supposed to contain Government supplies (but containing only private property), were burned to the ground by Confederates or Confederate sympathizers, involving a loss of about $14,000. He was a Democrat all through life, but a strong Union man, never a bitter partisan, or an aspirant for political honor.”
“…married Miss Zella C. Simon, a native of Ligniere, of Neuchatel, Switzerland, a lady of rare accomplishments. By this union seven children were born.”
“Her father was a college professor, and left Switzerland to join the Swiss colony on the Red River, South, but by an unfortunate mistake, the party were taken to Red River, North and landed near Hudson Bay, thousands of miles from their destination. During the long and tedious voyage they were several times ice-bound, spending weeks at a time fastened to icebergs, occasionally visited by Polar bears and the native Esquimaux. The trials and vicissitudes of the long journey from that region to southern Indiana will never be forgotten by the family of Mrs. Grisard. She and her mother were the first white women who ever traversed the wild waste of country between the British settlements and the United States, and they had many hair-breadth escapes and numerous adventures among the Indians. They were obliged to subsist for weeks together upon what the hunters of the party provided for them. They arrived in Switzerland County in August, 1823. Mrs. Grisard joined the Presbyterian Church in 1847…active in all societies of the church.”
“Capt. Grisard was a self-made, self-educated man. No one in Switzerland County sustained a better reputation for sterling worth, and no one was more faithful and energetic in business. His religion was to do good unto others. He belonged to Indiana Lodge No. 126, I. O. O. F.”
#73: Crescents Baseball Team from Vevay, Indiana, c. 1907
The following names are listed on the back of the picture. (Ten names, eleven people, and don’t know which row to start with. Would appreciate input if anyone can provide information.)
Darwin Fallis, Roy Johnson, Curly Gibletts, John Swango, Frank Weaver, Charles Grammer, William Day, Hiram Bakes, James Pickett, Charles Banta.
#74: Life Sketches from Common Paths: A Series of American Tales by Julia L. Dumont, 1856
	Julia Dumont’s short stories and poems were published in mid-western magazines, including the “Cincinnati Literary Gazette”, the “Cincinnati Mirror”, the “Western Gem and Cabinet of Literature”, “The Ladies Repository”, the “Cincinnati Chronicle”, and the “Southwestern Journal and Monthly Review”. Just a year before her death Julia compiled many of her short stories into her first and only book, Life Sketches from Common Paths.
	Julia Louise Cory Dumont and her husband John Dumont became residents of Vevay the same year that Switzerland County was legally organized, 1814. 
Mrs. Dumont was a teacher, with her home often being the school. In the earliest days of her teaching she often had her baby in a cradle in one corner of the room, a primer class in another and an advanced algebra or geometry class in another, keeping a competent eye on all three. Three generations of students were privileged to have her as their teacher.
Varying greatly from the standard teaching methods of the day, Julia Dumont believed in praise rather than physical discipline. One of her renowned pupils, Edward Eggleston, remembers her in the Scribner’s Monthly in March of 1879, written many years after her death.
 “Mrs. Dumont was the ideal of a teacher because she succeeded in forming character. She gave her pupils praise, not hypocritically, but because she lovingly saw the best in everyone. We worked in sunshine. A dull but industrious pupil was praised for diligence, a bright pupil for ability, a good one for general excellence. The dullards got more than their share, for, knowing how easily such a one is disheartened, Mrs. Dumont went out of her way to praise the first show of success in a slow scholar. She treated no two alike. She was full of all sorts of knack and tact, a person of infinite resource for calling out the human spirit. She could be incredibly severe, and no overgrown boy whose meanness had once been analyzed by Mrs. Dumont ever forgot it.”
Julia Dumont descendants Lucille Detraz Skelcher and Jane Lucille Skelcher provided further insight in an article written in 1938. 
“During these years of teaching, Mrs. Dumont’s mother was at all times her constant companion and helped her run the household and care for the children (11) while her daughter was at her school duties. In death they are still side by side.”
“A contributor to her own success was her husband, himself a well-educated man, a fine lawyer, and always an advocate and active promoter of higher education. He filled several local offices, such as Justice of the Peace and Coroner, and as early as 1814 served as inspector of elections at the election dividing the county into townships. He was also president of the Vevay Literary Society. Upon Indiana’s admission to the union he served as Switzerland County’s first representative in the legislature. He also served in the House of Representatives in 1820-21 and 22, and again in 1828, 30 and 31, and in the State Senate in the years 1831-36 inclusive. Much of his work in the legislature was associated with the fight for better educational facilities and system; and was instrumental in helping to establish early in Indiana’s history a high standard for the public education of her children.”
June -  click any small image to load the slides.
July -  click any small image to load the slides.
#75: Markland Post Office
Established much later than most other towns in Switzerland County, Charles Markland platted the town named in his honor in 1874. Wesley McHenry served as the first Postmaster. John Marsh built the first house in Markland and commercial development followed. Hugh McClanahan built the town’s first sawmill in 1874 and in 1877 John O’Neal established the first gristmill. Merchant A. Benedict erected Markland’s first commercial building, a two-story frame structure, for his general store and warehouse in 1878. That same year Joseph Froman opened the town’s first drug store. (Information is from “Switzerland County Interim Report ~ Indiana Historic Sites and Structures Inventory”, a 115 page paperback available in the museum gift shop.)
#76: Sawmill crew at Markland
This photo is dated 1910, with the following names written on the back.
Top row: George McClennan, Henry Bordman, Jesse McClennan, Roy Boseau, Tom Ford, Ollie McClennan
Bottom row: Billie McClennan, Sol Fancher, John F. McCreary, George Reeves, Milt Gullion
#77: Flatboat bilge pump
Flatboats were just what their name implies – flat boats. Their sides were enclosed by wooden gunwales (“gunnels”), but they had open hulls – that is, their decks were their hulls – and, therefore, no underwater cargo holds. So why would a flatboat need a bilge pump?
Flatboat cargo boxes were mounted atop a deck made of wooden planking, much like a raft. Seams between boards were caulked with oakum, made of tarred jute or hemp fiber, in an effort to keep as much water from seeping through the boards as possible. The oakum was forced between the boards with a caulking tool shaped like a wedge. Caulking was maintained on very nearly an everyday basis due to wave action and the presence of drift or other debris knocking against the flatboat’s decking.
But no matter how much care, time, and effort went into maintaining these seams, no wooden-sided, wooden-decked vessel can be made completely watertight. River water would often “pool” into a corner where the gunwales met the deck, while rainwater could flood the deck or cargo box. Bilge pumps were portable, allowing them to be moved to wherever they were needed most. Keeping excess water out was tedious work under the best of conditions, and could be strenuously difficult any time the crew found itself in heavy weather.
#78: Calling cards
Calling cards of the past were a necessary accessory for a gentleman or lady who called upon friends or acquaintances, or who wished to announce their presence in town. 
An etiquette was followed, as a casual unannounced visit simply wasn’t done. Calling cards were an essential part of introductions, invitations and visits. A few of the rules were as follows:   
•	Gentlemen could place their addresses on their cards, but ladies could not, and a matron would naturally place her married name on her card, such as Mrs. John Smith.
•	A lady would start making calls as soon as she arrived in Town, to notify everyone that her family had arrived. She remained in her carriage while her groom took her card and handed it in.
•	The card was conveyed to the mistress of the house, who would then decide whether or not to receive the caller. If the mistress was 'not at home', it was a rejection of the visitor. A reciprocal card may be given to the caller, but if not presented formally, that usually meant there was no desire to further the acquaintance. If, however, a formal call was returned with a formal call, there was hope for the relationship to grow.
•	For a first call, one was wise to simply leave the card without inquiring as to whether or not the mistress was at home. She would then take the next step.
•	A wife could leave her husband's card for him. She left her own card, plus two of her husband's, one for the mistress of the house, and one for the master. The names of grown-up daughters could be printed on her card when they accompanied her on a call as long as they were still living at home.
•	A turned-down corner indicated that the card had been delivered in person, rather than by a servant. Some elaborate cards had the words Visite, Felicitation, Affaires, and Adieu imprinted on the reverse side, on the corners. So whichever corner was turned up, one of those corners appeared and explained the reason for the visit.
•	Calls should be made only on “At Home” days. Days and times for these were engraved on visiting cards.
•	A newcomer waited until she received cards from neighbors. It was then good manners to call on those neighbors who left cards.
•	Formal calls were made following ceremonial events such as marriage or childbirth, and also as acknowledgement of hospitality. Calls for condolence and congratulations were made about a week after the event. If intimate, a visitor may ask for admission. If not, they inquired of the servant as to the person's well-being.
•	Visits were short, lasting from twenty to thirty minutes. If another caller arrived during a visit, the first caller left within a moment or two.
An assortment of over 200 cards are in the museum collection. Most are from the last few decades of the 19th century. Available for viewing by special request. Adieu.
#79: United States flag, 46 stars
On July 4, 1908, the U.S. flag grew to 46 stars with the addition to the Union of Oklahoma (November 16, 1907). This was the official flag for four years. Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909) and William H. Taft (1909-1913) served as President under the 46 star flag. 
This flag was owned by Civil War veteran Thomas Edmondson.  He was in Company F, Twenty-second Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry – three years, and in Company F, One hundred seventeenth Regiment Indiana Infantry – six months.
#80: Military medals and awards, Glen Pommerehn
The extract for the Silver Star commendation reads as follows:
Headquarters 6th Armored Division
APO 256, United States Army
22 April 1945
Technical Sergeant Glen Pommerehn, Infantry**** United States Army. For gallantry in action in France, Luxembourg and Belgium during the period 28 July 1944 to 31 December 1944. In the **** area on 31 December 1944, he braved intense enemy mortar and artillery fire to run across 500 yards of open terrain and aid a wounded man. His heroic action saved the life of a fellow soldier but Technical Sergeant Pommerehn was seriously wounded. During the period 28 November to 16 December 1944, he gallantly served as platoon leader. His skillful and aggressive leadership and his personal courage reflect great credit upon himself and the military service. Entered the military service from Indiana.
#81: Switzerland County Doctors
The date this picture was taken is unknown, however a close approximation through research places it in the 1880s.
Standing left to right:
Dr. J. H. Shadday, Dr. H. T. Dalgliesh, Dr. Cullie Rous, Dr. G. W. VanPelt, Dr. John W. Smith.
Seated left to right: Dr. L. J. Woolen, Dr. P. S. Sage, Dr. Albert G. Craig
#82: Samuel Stucy’s passport & citizenship paper
Samuel was the son of Henry Stucy, who came to America in 1849. 
The following information is from our Family Files:
Henry Stucy was born in the Village of Niederurnan, Canton Glarus, Switzerland in 1816. He married Miss Afra Steinman, a woman of his own age, who was born and reared in the same village. To them were born eight children in Switzerland and three in America, in the order as follows: Regula, Samuel, Elizabeth, Frances, Afra, Frederick, Madgaline, Henry, Mary, Clara and Stella. 
Henry was a stone mason by trade but first found work in a tanning factory in Pittsburgh, PA. Henry heard of a Swiss settlement in Indiana and soon settled in Vevay. After working in his trade and farming for some time, he sent for his family. His wife and eight children left Switzerland in 1851 and were 54 days crossing the Atlantic Ocean on a sailing vessel. They landed safely in New Orleans, LA and traveled by steamboat up the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers to join husband and father in Vevay. They located on a farm near Vevay, where the parents resided till about 1888, when they moved to town. Mr. Stucy died in Vevay in 1893 and his wife died the following year.
#83: Fraktur
Fraktur is both a style of lettering and a highly artistic and elaborate illuminated folk art created by the Pennsylvania Dutch (also known as Pennsylvania Deitsch or Pennsylvanian German) with roots in European folk art. They were done in ink and/or watercolors, typically appearing on a book page, baptismal certificate or other family record. Most fraktur were created between 1740 and 1860.
The fraktur pictured here commemorates the marriage of Philip & Rose Bettens and the birth of their children
Center: PHILIP BETTENS was born on the 24th day of January A. D. 1774
Rose Massard was born on the 11th day of June A. D. 1768
Philip Bettens & Rose his wife were joined in Matrimony on the 12th day of January A. D. 1797
Corners: Charlotte Bettens was born on the 14th day of July A. D. 1798
Rosalie Bettens was born on the 20th day of June A. D. 1803
Amelia Bettans was born on the 10th day of November A. D. 1805
Philip Bettens was born on 20th November A. D. 1808
Bottom center: Alexander Bettens was born on the 10th day of April A. D. 1811 

Bettens was part of the original group that emigrated from Switzerland in 1801 and located in Jessamine County, Kentucky. In 1802 they began preparations for settlement in Indiana in which year John James Dufour petitioned Congress to pass an act authorizing him and his associates to enter lands on an extended credit, with a view of giving them an opportunity of introducing the culture of grapes in the United States. The act was passed May 1, 1802 and 2,500 acres were selected, and 1,200 more acres adjoining were entered and paid for. The colonists gave it the name of New Switzerland. Bettens acquired 192 acres.
#84: Moorefield Band
Community Bands were popular from the late 1800s into the early 1900s in Switzerland County, with Moorefield, Vevay and Florence each having their own.
(The names on the back were in a list, no rows designated. One name short.)
Ab Shaffer, Ernie Womus, Harry Riley, Harold Cotton, Stanley Cotton, Vivian Gray, John Heady, Sunny Culver, Harvey Jester, Ulys Peters, Roll Roberts, Ernest Scott, Dr. J. Sharp, Charley Finch, Bert Anderson.
#85: Chautauqua Program, 1915
	Chautauqua was an adult education movement in the United States, named after Chautauqua Lake where the first such event was held in 1874. Chautauqua assemblies expanded and spread throughout rural America, bringing entertainment and culture with speakers, teachers, musicians, entertainers, preachers and specialists of the day. 
	An article appeared in the Vevay Reveille, July 30th, 1914, with the headline CHAUTAUQUA FOR VEVAY MAY BE A REALITY IN 1915. Professor C. E. Smith, vice-president of Moore’s Hill College, and a Chautauqua promoter, asked that 50 citizens agree to guarantee $20 each. “If this is done, an eight days program will be arranged for. Each of the citizens who have donated the $20 will be given that amount in Chautauqua tickets, which they are entitled to dispose of.”
	The citizenry must have responded favorably, because a program for the 1915 Vevay Chautauqua is in the Switzerland County Historical Society’s collection, and an ad in the July 15, 1920 Vevay Reveille promoted the 6th Annual Chautauqua to be held August 3rd to 8th, 1920. 
	The program cover for The Vevay Chautauqua, from Sunday, August 8 to Thursday, August 12, 1915, highlights “Music, Magic, Mirth, Lecture”. Within the cover is a wealth of information about Vevay’s business district revealed in the 35 ads, a list of the “Guarantors” who made the event possible, a list of the Chautauqua officers and committees, a few pages of local history, and pictures and information about the presenters. 
	Wouldn’t you have loved to have seen Louis Williams presenting his “Wonders of Electricity”? “Mr. Williams carries with him an elaborate equipment of dynamos, generators, motors and electrical and chemical apparatus which have cost him thousands of dollars. He is a mystic wonder worker. He deals in the inspirational phenomena of electricity. A wizard, but with it he is a humorist with a mirthful message.”
	A lecture by world traveler Dr. George W. Downs, pastor of the Metropolitan Temple, the great institutional and evangelistic church of New York Methodism, shared his “extensive studies in the Far East, and his graphic descriptions of places and experiences captivates the imagination of his audiences and gives them a real view of how the other half lives and thinks.”
	Other lectures and entertainment presented A. W. Evans, Humorist; Gilbert Eldredge, Impersonator; and Nat Brigham, Cowboy. Musical offerings included the Riheldaffer-Skibinsky Company, the Chicago Operatic Company, Palmer’s Quintette, and the Kuehn Concert Company. 
	The Chautauqua movement seems like the Public Television offerings of today, only brought to your home community.
#86: Boat watchers on the Ohio 
Don’t know the date of this picture but these boat watchers are all gone now. All great storytellers and local legends. 
The information on the back written by Belle Stepleton (1883 – 1979) reads:

From left to right: Don Stepleton, Ralph Miller, Jim Sides, Charles Danner, Forrest Brown – Past President of the Switz. Co. His. Soc. {He made a museum out of the Old Church, later garage (greasy & dirty as it was) and we honor him for his work.
Boat watchers on the Ohio River shore at Vevay

The museum Belle references is not the church where our present museum has been located since 1970, but was located at the corner of Pike and Union.
#86: Copper lusterware pitcher
This pitcher was a wedding present to Mr. & Mrs. Edward Patton who were married in Vevay, Indiana on May 10th of 1826. Mr. Patton was clerk of Switzerland County then and for many years after. The wedding trip was made on horseback. The pitcher, together with the wedding bonnet was in a bandbox, tied to the pommel of Mr. Patton’s saddle. The horse took fright and the box was thrown to the ground, the box and bonnet broken. The pitcher was unharmed.

Since then it has traveled over a good part of the United States in possession of Mrs. Patton’s grand-daughter, Mrs. S. C. Smith, but at last finds its way back to the old home town here to rest to the end of time.
In 1925, Mrs. Mary Beasley (nee Patton) of San Diego, California, a grand-daughter of Edward Patton, gave the pitcher to Mrs. Leila Dufour Bledsoe with the admonition to keep it until the Switzerland County Historical Society had a home.
Mrs. Bledsoe died in 1940, leaving her pitcher to her twin sister, Mrs. Clara Dufour Sanders of Havershill, Massachusetts. On the death of Mrs. Sanders in 1945, the priceless relic was sent to her sister, Mrs. Olive Dufour Trafelet, in whose keeping it remained until September of 1953, when Mrs, Trafelet gave it into the care of the Switzerland County Historical Society.
#87: Jolly Sixteen
Still trying to find out the story behind the Jolly Sixteen. The same group of ladies is in another picture labeled the Milkmaid’s Convention. Fortunately this picture is labeled and reads as follows:
Jolly Sixteen 1890, Courthouse yard
Back row standing: Ella Rous, Nettie Knox, Julia Bell, Anna Boerner, Ella Waldo, Lou Belle Protsman
Sitting: Lucy Livings, Edith Goldenberg, Cordia Danner, Lou Grisard, Maude Haskell
Ground row: Laura Kincaid, Afra Tilley, Belle Dupraz, Kate McHenry, Effa Morrison
#88: Onyx clock
This ornate clock was owned by Nellie Protsman Waldenmaier, 1877 – 1959, who was married to Benjamin Waldenmaier, 1876 – 1956.
Nellie was renowned for her work as a genealogist. She authored a publication “Some of the Earliest Oaths of Allegiance to the United States of America” in 1944.  The following are excerpts from the Preface:
      In preparing the material in this volume the editor has had in mind two objectives: first, the presentation of the data to be found in the oaths themselves; and, second, to present a brief outline of the historic background of the oaths.
      The information found in the oaths themselves is of inestimable value to genealogists and to other historians. It is hoped that the time has passed when the genealogist was looked upon as merely a compiler of a limited range of vital statistics. The usefulness of the material in these oaths in genealogical research far exceeds the bare fact that a given individual “took and subscribed” the oath on a certain day. The existence of a man’s name in this roster of patriots is indisputable evidence that he was a person trusted by the Continental Congress…
      The long list speaks for itself. I beg the reader to consider well the significance of each item of information accompanying the name of each signer, i.e., the date and place where the oath was taken; the witnessing official.

From a review written in the Indiana Magazine of History, Vol. 41, Issue 3 in 1945: The book is a brief survey of the various oaths (not only to the United States, but to various offices as well of which certain men were then the incumbents) taken in the three years prior to 1779. Fifteen pages are devoted to explanation; the remainder of the book is a list of signers of oaths. The lists are compiled from the originals in the National Archives and the Library of Congress. The compiler's chief interest seems to be in providing a list of men hereby proved to have participated in the American Revolution. She has included some interesting facsimiles of various types of oaths. As a handbook of signers it is very useful; as a historical study of the oaths and their background it falls short of the ideal.
#89: Staffordshire plate
A view of Vevay, Switzerland is the subject of the c. 1820 plate donated by Charles and Nancy Farnsley in 1975.
#90: Woman’s Study Club
The Club went through a few name changes. Originally it was the H and P Literary Society, with the H and P standing for hens and pullets, as mothers and daughters were invited to join. In 1892 the name was changed to the Woman’s Study Club. After two decades it was decided the name should honor the memory of a cultured pioneer teacher, Mrs. Julia L. Dumont and so became the Julia L. Dumont Club in 1912. “The History of the Julia L. Dumont Club 1886-1997” compiled by Ginny Reeves, can be accessed in the museum files.
1894 photo, left to right
Back row: Lou Protsman, Belle Melcher, Dora Kessler, Edith Goldenburg, Effa Morrison, Julia Bell, Mrs. Florence Fiske, Mary VanPelt, Emma Grisard, Kate McHenry
2nd row: Lou Grisard, Frederica Boerner, Miss Bettie Carter, Nora Lewis, Grace Stepleton, Mary E. Hall, Mrs. Jenny VanPelt, Jennie Demann, Sara H. Hall
Front row: Alice Yonge, Hannah Waldenmaier
#91: China doll
This c. 1850s china doll has the typical glazed porcelain head with a body of cloth. While carefully cared for with the head in excellent condition, the hands show the wear of frequent play. Donated by Estelle Detraz Brown.
#92: Candle lantern
Parkers Patent 1857
Provenance note with the lantern: “This lantern was used in a mill near the Switzerland-Ohio County Line on South Fork by Jerry Downey, father of Andrew Downey. Years ago when water saw mills were used on small streams they would saw day and night when the water lasted.” Donated by Mrs. Andrew Downey.
#93: Five Points School, 1950-1951
This photo was part of a special exhibit we had on the one & two room school houses in Switzerland County
Photo courtesy of Harold Demaree
Identification by Carolyn Roeder Truesdell
1st row: Bobby Beach, Gerald Skirvin, Freddie Scudder, Charles Ashby, Geraldine Gross, Yvonne Wentworth, Judy Garrett, Nancy Hensley
2nd row: Betty Beach, Phyllis Matthews, Mary Charlotte Banta, Caroline Higgins, Rosetta Wright, Amy McKay, Vernon Cook, Leon Roeder, Bernice Demaree (teacher)
3rd row: Marvin Cook, Carolyn Roeder, Eddie Konkle, Patsy Hensley, Bessie Roberts, Sandy Roberts, Linda Swango, Carolyn Hambrick
Top row: Virgil Roberts, Leslie Wright, Anita Wentworth, LaVerne Courtney, Shirley Gross, Nora Hall, Anna Ruth Otter
#94: Hand-painted heart
Your Heart Will Get Many a Scratch 
Before it Meets Its Match
On the back is written: Hand Painted 
Made by Hannah Waldenmaier for Sara W. Hall 
Hannah (1862-1929)   Sara (1866-1956)
#95: Vevay High School Majorettes, 1962
Photo courtesy of Walter Lambert, Vevay’s first band director.
Left to right: Jane Chalmers, Maggie Brown, Juanita Hysell, Barbara Ames, Cheryl Brown, Judy Roberts, Paula Harris
Front: Karen Gullion
August -  click any small image to load the slides.
#97: August Mead print
“The Round Barn”, 1951
Excerpts from a Vevay Newspaper article by Don Wallis, August 31, 1997
	“August Mead was born in Vevay in 1908…
	A small short man with glowing red hair, August Mead – everyone knew him as Augie, or as “Red” – grew up and went away and then came back to Vevay. He died in 1983, at the age of 75. 
When he was in his early 20s he went to New York to live for a time, and there he became an artist. He learned something about painting, and he learned the sophisticated art of wood engraving.
	In Vevay he had learned to be a printer, working with his uncle Wilk in the print shop of the Vevay Reveille, and in New York he got a job as a printer for a book publishing house. It was a good job. August Mead helped print some great American books, novels by Faulkner and Hemingway and Thomas Wolfe. He helped print these books and he read them, too; they were an important part of his life.
	He told me all this one day, as he and I worked in the print shop of the Madison Courier. I was just a kid, and August Mead was the Courier’s master printer. The other printers at the Courier respected him enormously; he was the only one who could miter his corners perfectly square, the only one who could close up his metal type with a string; the other printers needed a clamp to hold their type together. August Mead worked, as he lived, quietly, understandingly, with sensitivity, dignity, and integrity.”

August Mead published a booklet of thirteen wood-cuts, “Historic New Switzerland”. Copies are available in the museum gift shop for $5. A treasure.
#98: 317 Ferry Street ~ Commercial Building ~ Federal Style c. 1840
In response to a Facebook posting by Sarah Wolf with a picture of an old medicine bottle for Golay & Stevens discovered during their house restoration, your answer is within:
This two story commercial building served as a “package store” for many years, similar to a drug store of today without a pharmacist. As a “package store” it became a popular dining place and hangout from the late 1940s into the 1970s, with the upstairs being living quarters. For over 25 years now, it has been the office of the Vevay Switzerland County Foundation, Inc.

The Indiana Palladium, 1847
Isaac Stevens ~ Newly established drug store, No. 5 Schenck’s Row, Ferry Street

Isaac Stevens & Son ~ 1866 partnership with son, Edward M. Stevens; 1873 bought interest of U. P. Schenck, Jr. in drug store of Golay & Schenck. Now Golay & Stevens; 1890 bought interest of L.W. Golay. By 1898 the business is advertised as E. M. Stevens & Co.

 Vevay Democrat, Illustrated Special Edition, January 1898
 E. M. Stevens & Co.
…Mr. Stevens has been uninterrupted in the drug business for 32 years and has always kept abreast of the times in the changes and advancements of that avocation. This gives him a knowledge and experience that are both valuable and necessary in such important work as filling prescriptions…In addition to the main line of drugs all the staple patent medicines are carried. Paints, oils, varnishes and glazier’s supplies are kept on hand, and also a complete and well selected line of combs, brushes, hand glasses and all the accessories of the dressing table. Cigars, tobacco, and smoker’s articles are always on hand and also an extensive and well chosen stock of books and reading matter covering the fields of poetry, fiction and science. In short the stock embraces the varied assortment now found in the extensive drug stores of today.Will Henry Stevens (1881-1949), son of E. M. Stevens, was born and raised in Vevay, later becoming a renowned modern art pioneer and teacher at Newcomb Art School at Tulane University from 1921-1948. Stevens had helped his father in the workroom of E. M. Stevens & Co., measuring and combining ingredients. Here he learned to grind and mix his own paints. These skills later enabled him to develop new formulas for pastel chalks.

 Vevay Package Store ~ The Package Store was operated by Elmer and Mary Smith from about 1948 until 1970. They lived above the store where they raised their family and ran their business. They sold an assortment of items including cosmetics, tobacco products, cameras and film. The business included a popular restaurant and soda fountain. They were also an Indiana Trail Bus Station.
#99: Wyandotte Cave adventurers, 1891
The picture was taken following a trip to Wyandotte Cave.
Back row: Ben Waldenmaier, Eugene Detraz, Prof. W. R. J. Stratford, Hedden Baird, Bryant McMakin
Middle row: Milton Boerner, Carroll Walton, Frank Detraz, Clarence Shaw
Front row: Perce Bushmann, Ernest Holland, Wade Siebenthal, Harry Lee
#100: Will Henry Stevens  oil painting
	The following excerpt is from a book on Stevens available in our museum gift shop:
“Will Henry Stevens was born in 1881 in Vevay, Indiana, a rural town on the banks of the Ohio River. He was the son of Ella Dimock and Edward Montgomery Stevens. His father was a pharmaceutical chemist whose recreation included amateur drawing. Stevens helped his father in the workroom of the store, measuring and combining ingredients. Here he learned to grind and mix his own paints; these skills later enabled him to develop new formulas for pastel chalks. By the time he was ten years old Stevens showed an unusual aptitude for drawing. Therefore, his mother arranged for him to study with a Miss Ward, a local artist who made copies of oil paintings. He was her only pupil. From her he learned to work in charcoal, creating still lifes and landscapes.
	During his formative years he became acquainted with Emerson’s essays and Thoreau’s Walden, which helped to shape his nascent philosophy. These early years in Vevay, when he first experienced an intense love of nature, provided the direction for his art and his life. Stevens attended the local schools, and then a year in a preparatory school of Wabash College in Crawfordsville.”

Will Henry Stevens studied at the Cincinnati Art Academy before working several years as a designer for Rookwood Pottery. In 1921 Stevens joined the faculty of Newcomb College of Art, Tulane University, teaching until his retirement in 1948, at which time he returned to Switzerland County.
	Drawings and paintings by Stevens are represented in museum collections throughout the country including the Boston Museum of Fine Art, Smithsonian American Art Museum and Los Angeles County Museum of Art. The Switzerland County Historical Society is fortunate to have thirteen works by Stevens in their collection, including the oil painting, pastels and sketches.
#101: Barber Shop, 1913
This is the barber shop of Ray and Albert Morrison in Vevay. 
Identified on the back: Ray at first chair, Albert at second with Uly Teats in the chair.

Ray joined George W. Haskell & Son Undertakers on May 15, 1930, at which time the name of the business was changed to Haskell Morrison, as it remains today.
The site of this barber shop is not noted on the picture. If you know where it was please let us know.
#102: Capt. Robert Elwood Hall
Company C, 7th Regiment Indiana Infantry 
Mustered in from Ohio County, regiment reorganized at Indianapolis for three years’ service, with Ebenezer Dumont (from Switzerland County) as colonel. Moved at once into Western Virginia and joined Gen. Reynolds’ command at Cheat Mountain. Participated in battles at Green Brier, Winchester Heights, Port Republic, and Front Royal. Marched to Fredericksburgh and back again to Shenandoah. Participated at Slaughter Mountain and the second battle of Bull Run. The regiment was engaged in the pursuit of Lee during the invasion of Maryland, and took part in the battle of Antietam. Engaged at Ashby’s Gap. Participated in the battle of Fredericksburgh under General Burnside. Engaged in the great battles at Chancellorsville, Gettysburgh, and Mine Run. The spring of 1864 found the Seventh at Culpepper, from whence it moved with the Army of the Potomac in Grant’s last great campaign, participating in the following battles: in the Wilderness, at Laurel Hill, at Spottsylvania, at Po River, at North Anna River, at Bethesda Church, and at Cold Harbor. Joined the assault on Petersburgh and the battle near Yellow House. The Seventh Regiment consolidated with the Nineteenth Regiment of Indiana Volunteers and later with the Twentieth Regiment of Indiana Volunteers. Upon the final discharge of the Twentieth, July 12, 1865, the veterans and recruits that had been transferred to it from the Seventh Regiment, were also mustered out, and on the same day returned to Indianapolis with it for final payment.

Capt. Robert Elwood Hall’s Civil War sword is in our museum collection. He is buried in the Vevay Cemetery in Switzerland County. Born May 12, 1842, died September 13, 1924.

The Civil War image of Capt. Robert Elwood Hall was discovered in a box of photos of the Hall family. (A reference to Capt. Hall was made in an earlier 200 Objects, 200 Years entry #15.)
#103: Static electricity generator
This “Static Machine” was made by John Henry, an inventor and scientist who emigrated from Salisbury, England in 1834. Several of his “Static Machines” were in the community, including in the office of Doctors Crawford and Loomis, the Vevay High School for study, and one was always in the Henry family home. The patient stood on a small stool with glass legs, (which were bottles), holding two handles to receive the current generated by the machine. The operator turned a wooden wheel very slowly to charge the current. The treatment lasted only a few minutes. It was painless and very relaxing. Some of the small parts are missing.

Naomi Henry Williamson, granddaughter of John Henry, provided the following information for an article in Vevay Newspapers July 11, 1963. (For those interested in the entire article, contact the museum.)
John Henry was born in Salisbury, England in 1807 and sailed from Southhampton for America in 1831. He worked in New York and Cincinnati as a printer, before becoming great friends with Benjamin Schenck and moving to Vevay in 1850. While living in Cincinnati he married Johanna Illenden in May, 1840.
	Mr. Schenck was interested in the manufacture of ink. Schenck and Henry became partners and located the Vevay Ink Mill near the river about half way between Cincinnati and Louisville, where shipping would be advantageous.
	A steam engine and boiler were used to run the mill. A furnace held a huge melting kettle or pot, and a small car on rails carried the materials back and forth.
	Ingredients used were rosin, rosin oil, soap, lamp black, petroleum, and both gum and spirits of turpentine. Fancy card and book ink contained sperm oil.
	Besides the manufacture of ink, Henry was very busy binding public records, magazines, books, music and other papers. He taught his daughter, Miss Sarah, the art of book binding and she was a useful helper and carried on the work many years after his death in 1896.
Henry invented a cylinder printing press, which was manufactured in Cincinnati. Simplicity and good work made it the best hand cylinder press in use.
He was a believer in the religious faith of Emanuel Swedenborg and possessed a complete set of his books. He and Schenck were members of the Church of New Jerusalem, so named by Swedenborg, in Cincinnati, and every two weeks they boarded a mail boat to attend services there.
From his obituary: John Henry was a mechanical genius. We never knew a man who possessed such a variety of knowledge and was so versatile. He was thorough in English and familiar with Latin and Greek. He knew much of astronomy and chemistry, a man of extensive reading.
#104: Martha Graham ferryboat
The Martha A. Graham, Vevay’s last ferryboat (1943-1978), was retired from service when the new bridge over Markland Dam was opened in 1978. The Graham family operated ferries that linked the communities of Vevay, Indiana and Ghent, Kentucky from the 1840s until 1978. Their business started with the Robert Graham, followed by the Eva Everett, named after twin children of Robert Graham, a second Eva Everett, the Robert T. Graham and the Martha A. Graham.
The Graham’s purchased the ferry franchise and ferry house from the Dufours who established the business in 1811.
#105: Pharmaceutical weights, from Sullivan’s Pharmacy
An assortment of weights from when pharmacists carefully measured ingredients and filled capsules or made ointments & creams was donated by Jack Sullivan when he closed his business in 1996. (A variety of other historic items from the drug store was donated at the same time.)
Sullivan’s Pharmacy was a “corner drug store” in Vevay for 77 years, from 1919 to 1996.
W. T. Sullivan purchased the drug business from L. W. Golay in 1919 and started Sullivan’s Pharmacy. In 1946 Jack Sullivan entered into partnership with his father, W. T. Sullivan, and assumed management at the death of Mr. Sullivan in May of 1954. 
	The Switzerland Democrat, October 3, 1996, excerpt from interview with Jack Sullivan when he was retiring:
The drug store was a busy place. Jack remembers when there were eight full-time doctors in Vevay, all of their patients served by Sullivan’s Pharmacy. And above the drug store was the Phoenix Hotel, run by the Pangburn family, with its 28 rooms and spacious lobbies on both the second and third floors, serving as living rooms for the hotel’s guests…The hotel has long been closed – its been closed now for 70 years – but on the drug store building a sign proudly proclaiming THE PHOENIX HOTEL remains.
#106: John F. Brown Park
Located where East Market meets Main, the plaque reads “The John F. Brown Park 1920.” The original fountain of a crane spouting water is long gone, and efforts were made over the years to revitalize the park, with very satisfying results in 2010. The Vevay Park Board installed a beautiful tiered fountain that adds greatly to the adjacent museum landscaping. The park at the point is owned and maintained by the Town of Vevay. (John F. Brown home in the background on the left.)
The following information is from a Vevay Newspaper article, October 7, 1920.

The John F. Brown fountain at the intersection of Main and Market Streets was dedicated Saturday afternoon, Judge F. M. Griffith delivering the address.
The fountain, while small is beautiful and next spring, it will be surrounded by flower beds. John F. Brown is the originator of the movement to buy the fountain and he and his son Claude did practically all the work in erecting it. It was purchased by popular subscription from residents of the first ward, Mrs. F. M. Griffith, Mrs. Viola Butler and Mrs. Charles Sieglitz doing the soliciting. 

A list of 79 contributors followed. 
John F. Brown lived in the house with the wrap-around porch on the south side of Market Street across from the park.
#107: Patriot School commemorative plate
The first school building was started in 1868 and completed in 1869. First graduating class was in 1884. A new high school was completed in 1925. The new addition to the high school was started in 1936. The last class to graduate was in 1968, one hundred years after the old school was started. Patriot High School was destroyed by fire in 1978. (This information is from the back of another commemorative plate titled Patriot - Posey School.)
#108: Fur hat & beaded moccasins
Sent from the Yukon, these items were given to Roger Henry Reed (b. January 14, 1915 d. July 15, 2006) when he was a child from his Uncle Henry Detraz. Roger wore the moccasins when he went squirrel hunting. Henry “Cy” Detraz died in February of 1946 and is buried in the Hillside Cemetery in Yukon, Canada.
#109: Map of Canton de Vaud, 1828
From whence they came.
The Swiss Settlement of Switzerland County (written 1876) by Perret Dufour, provides an insight into the early founding and development of the county.
	The following excerpt by Harlow Lindley, Earlham College, from an introduction to a reprint published in 1925 aptly describes the book.
	The Swiss colony on the Ohio River at Vevay, in what is now Switzerland County, Indiana, was founded by French-speaking Swiss citizens from the commune of Chateland, district of Vevay, Canton de Vaud, Switzerland, in the early 1800s. The founder of the settlement was John James Dufour who had first come to America in 1796 in search of lands for vineyards. He first purchased lands near Lexington, Kentucky, and subsequently in Indiana. The Kentucky settlement failed after a few years, but the Indiana vineyard flourished and became a major factor in the development of Switzerland County. (The Swiss Settlement of Switzerland County is available in the museum gift shop.)
#110: Hay press barn pulley
From hay press barn the Switzerland County Historical Society will be restoring at the Thiebaud farmstead. (Donations appreciated!)
Switzerland County has a unique agricultural past, with the hay industry dominating the mid-1800s. Samuel Hewitt of Allensville was awarded a patent for a hay press in 1843. Hay press barns were designed with a massive press in the center to compact hay into 300 to 400 pound bales, which were then shipped to southern markets. While these architectural artifacts once numbered over 200 in the county, only four such presses still remain here.

The hay press is a heavy timber and cast iron agricultural machinery/structure. The press was hung from two primary bent trusses. A driver/beater was constructed of heavy lumber rabbeted and pegged together. It was raised by a heavy rope that ran through a large pulley (pictured) at the top of the structure. Another large horizontal pulley is at the base of the press. The entire press is essentially three stories tall, with the bottom level being where the animal power to operate the press is accomplished by an ox or horse and the middle level is where the wagons loaded with hay are brought up a ramp into the bank barn. The large pulley is in the peak of the barn. For further information and to see a picture of a hay press visit www.switzcomuseums.org and read about the Agriculture Center.
#111: East Enterprise Bank checks
The East Enterprise Bank was established August 1, 1909.
Originally called Enterprise, the area’s first settler was John Littlefield, sometime between 1815 and 1819. According to the 1820 U.S. Census at least seven families lived in the area. The village’s name was changed to East Enterprise when it was discovered there was a southwestern Indiana town also called Enterprise.
#112: LeClerc House (picture c.1880s)
Now the Vevay Swiss Inn, 100 East Main Street ~ Original was Federal architecture, 1833. Rebuilt in 1947 following a fire.

The LeClerc House was established in 1833 on land purchased from Nicholas Longworth. The hotel was operated until 1894. Formerly known as the Franklin House, Robert LeClerc (August 22, 1809 – July 22, 1856) tore down the frame structure in 1850 and had a three-story building constructed. 

Excerpt from The History of Switzerland County, 1885
Mr. LeClerc learned the confectionery business, and in 1833 took charge of the hotel, which he managed up to the date of his death, July 22, 1856. He was an Odd Fellow and encampment member. Since her husband’s death Mrs. LeClerc (Julia Morerod LeClerc, December 10. 1812 – July 6, 1895) has successfully carried on the hotel business, and reared the family (nine children). She is truly an expert in the business, and watches the culinary department to the entire satisfaction of the most fastidious. Mrs. LeClerc has been a faithful and consistent member of the Presbyterian Church since 1851, and has lived to see nearly all her children unite with the society.

The following detailed information is on the back of the picture, provided by Julia LeClerc Knox (1870-1965):
“I am not sure I can say who many of these are. I think the old man with cane, leaning against the building might be Uncle Aime Morerod. The young man with the cap, near the baby buggy might be Bob Knox. The baby is LeClerc Smith and his mother beside him. The boy on the velocipede is Gene McMakin, and the little fellow is Bryan by his mother. The little girl this side of the second baby buggy, I think may be myself. The baby is Clarence Knox, his mother stands by. The woman with the white shawl looks like John Patton’s mother. Grandma LeClerc is seated, her daughter, Lena stands behind her. The little girl in the chair may be Lena Knox Stemmons. The lady on her left may be Mrs. Julia Williams. The tall girl with parasol is Lou Owens, and I think the last one in the high hat looks like Capt. French of the Show boat. The man with his hand on the tree might be L.W. Golay.”
September -  click any small image to load the slides.
#113: Photograph Album
The 32 page leather bound album reflects the styles of the 1880s and 1890s, and has a detailed corresponding list of names. Some pages hold individual portraits while some hold four smaller portraits.
Album Index
#114: Union Furniture Factory photo
This photo was taken in 1890 and belonged to John Thunemann.
From an 1876 business report: Union Furniture Factory – Capital, $40,000; annual product, $53,500; persons employed, fifty-six; established, 1874; occupy a large five-story brick building. A stock company, U. P. Schenck, president; C. Demann, treasurer and superintendant; J. W. Faulkner, secretary; Sell the most of their goods South.
#115: Flax breaker
Used in the processing of the flax plant into fibers that would be spun and used to weave linen, this wooden flax breaker was made and used by John Shaw of Craig Township. A flax breaker is a set of intersecting wooden blades that forces the retted flax straw to snap into short sections which then fall away from the fibers. 
John Shaw was born in Scotland in 1776 and married Elizabeth Spear May 24, 1797. She was born in Scotland in 1779. In 1816 John and Elizabeth immigrated to America with their eight children: Elizabeth, Margaret, William, Mary, John, Ann, Archibald, and James.  In 1817 they located in Switzerland County where they remained the rest of their lives. While John was a weaver by trade in Scotland, he became a successful farmer. Three more children were born: Janette, Jane and Sarah. Mr. Shaw died in 1867 and Mrs. Shaw in 1866.
#116: Mariner’s Compass quilt
This quilt was recently donated by James H. McCausland, son of Reverand J. Harold McCausland who was pastor of the Caledonia Presbyterian Church during the early 1970s. 
James’ mother Helen was very active in the church’s quilting group. “At my father’s retirement in September 1974, the Quilt Group presented the quilt to my mother as a going away gift. It was the last quilt she made with the group.”
Twenty gold and turquoise “compasses” are appliqued onto a white background. An appliqued green sash and bows borders the quilt. Each of the quilters embroidered their first name on the back of the quilt: Jeannette, Eve, Viola, Marguerite, Margaret, Shirley, Elberta, Mary, Lillian, and Mary Louise.
	Mary Archer, a member of the Caledonia Church, was asked to identify the quilters. She is the “Mary” on the quilt, and readily provided the other names, all deceased now. 
Elberta Archer was her husband John’s mother. Eve (Mrs. Harry) Ralston and Mary Louise (Mrs. Lewis) Ralston were sister-in-laws. Viola Ralston was married to Graham, cousin to Harry and Lewis. The other names were Jeannette Partain, Marguerite Wolf, Margaret Gray, Shirley Hart, and Lillian Drew.
#117: The Daily Citizen
July 2, 1863 edition of “The Daily Citizen” in Vicksburg, Mississippi, printed on wallpaper.
Quote ~ “That the great Ulysses – the Yankee Generalissimo, surnamed Grant – has expressed his intention of dining in Vicksburg on Saturday next, and celebrating the 4th of July by a grand dinner and so forth. When asked if he would invite Gen. Jo. Johnston to join he said, “No! for fear there will be a row at the table.” Ulysses must get into the city before he dines in it. The way to cook a rabbit is “first to catch the rabbit,” & c.
*
The July 2, 1863 edition of “The Daily Citizen” was printed on wallpaper because of the lack of newsprint paper. Editor/publisher J. M. Swords was innovative in getting out several one sheet, four column wide editions of the newspaper. 
When this newspaper was first discovered in our collection we pursued authentication and discovered our newspaper was a fake with copies appearing as far back as 1886.
The Library of Congress, Serial & Government Publications Division site provided the following information:
On July 4, Vicksburg surrendered, the publisher fled, and the Union forces found the type of the Citizen still standing. They replaced two-thirds of the last column with other matter already in type, added the note quoted below, and started to print a new edition. Evidently, after a few copies (how many is unknown) had been run off, it was noticed that the masthead title was misspelled as "CTIIZEN." The error was corrected, although the other typographical errors were allowed to stand, and the rest of the edition printed.
NOTE 
“July 4, 1863
Two days bring about great changes. The banner of the Union floats over Vicksburg. Gen. Grant has "caught the rabbit:" he has dined in Vicksburg, and he did bring his dinner with him. The "Citizen" lives to see it. For the last time it appears on "Wall-paper." No more will it eulogize the luxury of mule-meat and fricassed kitten -- urge Southern warriors to such diet never-more. This is the last wall-paper edition, and is, excepting this note, from the types as we found them. It will be valuable hereafter as a curiosity.”
Disappointed? Yes, but the old newspaper will serve well in relaying the history of the Civil War and we will be open in sharing with visitors our discovery of our fake. It just might prevent others from falling victim to fakes on the market, which were also revealed during our research.
We hope you’ll stop by the museum and see our July 2, 1863 newspaper printed on wallpaper, incased between two pieces of old wavy glass in an old oak frame that looks like it was once a cabinet door. 
Seeing is believing?
#118: Waldo Store photo
315 Ferry Street ~ Federal Style Architecture (Currently the home of Froggy Radio)
•	Built in 1838 by James Dalmazzo, prominent merchant who gave it to his daughter, Elizabeth Dalmazzo, on the occasion of her marriage to Ira N. Malin.
•	Remained the property of the Malins for many years and was used by them as a dry goods store. Ira Malin had a saddler shop in the same building for a time, having learned the trade from his father, Joseph Malin. 
•	John Pleasants purchased from Ira Malin in 1864
•	Otis Waldo purchased from J.K. Pleasants in 1867.  O. S. Waldo conducted a large general store there for many years. Mr. Waldo enlarged the building and added a skylight. He was married to Hetty, a daughter of Charles Goldenburg, who owned a business a few doors down the block. 

Vevay Democrat, January 1898
The house is filled with dry goods of rare pattern, of both foreign and domestic weave and ranging in price from goods of ordinary value to those intended to catch the fancy of the most exacting. An endless variety of notions are kept constantly on hand, and also a line of boots and shoes, as complete in style, quality and price is carried by houses devoted to footwear exclusively. Mr. Waldo pays special attention to his stock of staple groceries which is always maintained at the highest point warranted by strict rules of business. A complete line of hats and caps is kept constantly on hand, and the assortment for this year is really varied and extensive…
	More than ordinary attention is given the Queensware (light white earthenware with a brilliant glaze) and Chinaware department.

•	While in the Waldo family the building was leased to several businesses.
•	Building occupied by Wm. Goldenburg (son of Charles Goldenburg) who conducted a tin and queensware store then, and after his death the business was conducted by his son-in-law, Ralph Campbell, former mayor of Vevay.
•	Later occupied by Peak & Gibson as a hardware store, then became Fancher’s Variety Store who conducted a dry goods and notion business. 
•	Building remained in the Waldo family until it was sold to Paul and Edith Lamkin in September of 1953. It was deeded to Bruce Hutcherson in 1996 and sold to Firewood Corporation in 2001.
•	The building has served as a TV repair shop, a meeting place for the Democrat Party, a storage room for Lamkin’s Furniture (319 Ferry Street) and a real estate office. It is currently the home of Froggy 95.9 FM Radio.
#119: Mastodon tusk & article
From the Vevay Reveille Enterprise, June 23, 1927
A mastodon tusk measuring seven feet two inches in length and 29 inches in circumference was found at Mennet’s Hollow two miles west of Vevay last week by Fred Riley. He saw the tusk protruding from the earth and removed it and brought it to Vevay where it is on exhibit at Krummel’s Meat Market.
Mastodon Article
#120: Jockey Day in Vevay
The photo was taken on Ferry Street on the east side of Market Square, which is now a parking lot. Market Square was the half block now occupied by the Switzerland County Public Library. The building in the center background is now the Hoosier Theater.
The article is from the Vevay Reveille 1910.
#121: Capt. James C. Kirkpatrick photo
His stone in the Vevay Cemetery reads: Captain James C. Kirkpatrick, b. Nov. 23, 1838   d. Dec. 13, 1917   Co. D. 52nd Ind. Inf.
From his obituary: Died at his home near Vevay after a lingering illness of pneumonia and complications. Captain Kirkpatirck was one of the County’s best known and highly respected citizens. When President Lincoln called for volunteers in 1861, he enlisted in the 52nd Indiana Regiment as a private but by his efficiency and bravery, received a commission as Captain. He took part in the battles at Pittsburg Landing, Shilo and many other hard fights in the early part of the war and later in that at Mobile Bay. During his long service he was under Generals Grant and Thomas.
In 1868, he was married to Anna Ogle. To this union were born three children, Mrs. Kate Stewart of Greensburg, Ind., Mrs. Grace Lamson of near Vevay, and Miss Mable, at home, all of whom survive. Three grandchilden, Warren, Marie and Catherine Stewart also survive.
Captain Kirkpatrick was a member of the Masonic Lodge and of Major Patton Post G. A. R. of which he held the office of Adjutant. He was an esteemed and greatly loved man and his loss is one that the county can ill afford. Nothing but the highest praise has ever been spoken of him and his inspiring influence will be sorely missed.
He was a member of the Baptist Church and was a quiet, true and unassuming Christian.
#122: Caledonia Presbyterian Church, embroidered cloth
This “signature cloth” is embellished with 313 precisely embroidered names arranged in concentric circles around a central medallion design with “Caledonia United Presbyterian Church” embroidered in the center. It was created by Janie Pommerehn and Aggie Hall at Missionary Meetings at the church, probably in the 1940s. Signature quilts and cloths were done as fund raisers. People could have their name embroidered on for a fee, and then the finished piece could be auctioned. The money raised would be used to support various causes, like missionary work or supporting troops. 
They are now being used by genealogists, historians, sociologists and cultural anthropologists as primary documents for research. They can serve as material evidence to document someone was in a certain area in a particular period of time. They can indicate family and community relationships, sometimes a religious, political or organizational tie. A few views are shown here. An index of the names is available at the museum.
#123: Casey’s Infantry Tactics, Vol. I
Infantry Tactics by Brig. Gen. Silas Casey, published 1862
Written inside the front cover: J. C. Kirkpatrick, 1st Lieut. Co. D, 52nd Ind Vol
A few pages later: James C. Kirkpatrick carried this little book through the Civil War.
The book measures 3½ inches x 5¼ inches.
Information on Capt. James C. Kirkpatrick, item # 121.
#123: Casey’s Infantry Tactics, Vol. I
Infantry Tactics by Brig. Gen. Silas Casey, published 1862
Written inside the front cover: J. C. Kirkpatrick, 1st Lieut. Co. D, 52nd Ind Vol
A few pages later: James C. Kirkpatrick carried this little book through the Civil War.
The book measures 3½ inches x 5¼ inches.
Information on Capt. James C. Kirkpatrick, item # 121.
October -  click any small image to load the slides.
#124: High-wheel bicycle
The high wheel, high wheeler or ordinary, is a type of bicycle with a large front wheel and a much smaller rear wheel. It was the first machine to be called a "bicycle", and was popular in the 1880s.
The high wheeler is a direct-drive bicycle, meaning the cranks and pedals are fixed directly to the hub. Instead of using "gears" to multiply the revolutions of the pedals, the driven wheel was enlarged to be close to the rider's inseam, to increase the maximum speed. This shifted the rider nearly on top of the wheel and made it impossible for the rider to reach the ground while sitting on the seat. A mounting step on the frame just above the small back wheel provided ease in getting on the bicycle. The main challenge or problem was when the front wheel would strike a rock or rut the rider could be pitched forward off the bicycle, thus the saying “taking a header”.
#125: Methodist Church signature quilt
This signature quilt made by the Ladies Aid Society in 1904 was done as a fundraiser.
For a monetary donation, your name would become part of the signature quilt, which would then be auctioned to raise even more for whatever their intended project might be. The 362 names on the quilt are a valuable resource for genealogists. The names have been indexed and are available for researchers.
#126: Trundle cart
This all wood cart was used at the Grisard building at 217 Ferry Street. 
The building on the southwest corner of Main and Ferry was known as Grisard Block, and has been home to many businesses over the years, with the second floor and third floors being rented to small businesses and organizations or for special events. The following article tells of the burning of the first building owned by the Grisard’s, then later articles relay news of the building that still stands there today. Grisard Block is currently home of the Community Art Center.

Vevay Reveille ~ January 5, 1865
	About 12 o’clock on the night of Dec.23rd the warehouse of R.F.Grisard & Bro. was discovered to be on fire. Bells were rang, and the people assembled to endeavor to extinguish the flames, but it was too late and soon the warehouse was wrapt in flames.
	The warehouse was situated about the center of the city, and as the wind was blowing hard, it was feared the business portion of the town would be consumed, ladders were put up against the storehouse of Grisard & Bro. and men went up to prevent the building from catching fire. For a while they succeeded; but the flames from the burning warehouse came leaping over the building, compelling the men to beat a hasty retreat; and it was soon wrapt in flames.
	The warehouse of Zadoc & Rous caught fire, but was extinguished before much damage was done.
	It was feared that the block of three story brick buildings of Clarkson & Dufour, attached to the warehouse of Grisard & Bro. would ignite, and for this reason the people broke open the establishments of Detraz & Tardy, and F.A.Boerner & Bro. and carried out their goods. No goods were conveyed from the other stores of this building. The building having no windows in the end exposed to the flames and having a tin roof, escaped from being fired.
	The saddlery establishment of Kessler & Son, joining Grisard & Bro’s storehouse, escaped by men keeping the floor wet.
	Edward Rodgers had fifty barrels of flour, and John Peters had about $300 worth of tobacco in Grisard & Bro. warehouse.
	Grisard & Bro’s loss is about $13,000. Insured for $5,000 in the Etna.
	This destruction of property was undoubtedly the work of an incendiary, as there had never been a fire in the warehouse. Two men were seen to go into the cellar of Goldenburg & Son. The person who seen them hollered at them when they fled. A few minutes afterwards the fire was discovered. It is supposed they were a portion of a band of incendiaries.
	The Messrs. Grisards have the sympathies of the people of this locality for their loss. They are among our most honorable business men - ever ready to lend a helping hand to all public and charitable enterprisers.

Vevay Reveille ~ September 7, 1865
New building of R. F. Grisard & Bro., corner of Main and Ferry is completed. The building is three stories high, 60 ft. deep, 40 ft. wide. Ferry St. front, 1st story is free-stone.

Vevay Democrat ~ August 1901
Shadd Bros. removing their store from the Pleasants Building, Ferry & Main, to the room in the Grisard building next door to Wahl’s Barber Shop

Vevay Democrat ~ January 15, 1903
Lewis & Pleasants store remodeled. Secured the big Grisard Building. The building remodeled. Plate glass front windows on Main and Ferry Streets…handsome new stairway will be erected leading to the 2nd floor.

Vevay Reveille ~ April 10, 1905
George Gaudin has leased the former Lewis & Pleasants building at Ferry and Main

Switzerland Democrat ~ November 15, 1906
The Grisard Block, occupied by Lewis & Pleasants has been newly painted.

Vevay Reveille ~ September 23, 1909
Lewis & Pleasants – Oliver M. Pleasants sold his interest in the business to John K. Lewis

Vevay Reveille ~ 1946 
Work of establishing a clubroom on the third floor of the George Gaudin building is being pushed by the members of the Veterans of Foreign Wars

Vevay Reveille ~ January 14, 1954
Walter Gaudin has sold his building on Main Street which was used to conduct a lumber and hardware business to R. D. Slawson who will move his farm machinery from Ferry Street. Mr. Gaudin will move his business to the Gaudin three story brick building on the corner of Ferry & Main. A hardware store was conducted in the property known as the Grisard Building for many years by his father, the late George Gaudin. Recently the heirs to the estate disposed of their interest to the building to Walter Gaudin.
#127: GAR Transfer Cards
The Transcript of Information on each document gives an interesting insight into our county’s servicemen in the Civil War. Documents shown: James T. Albro, R.E. Hall, James C. Kincaid, and E.H. Mead. Also in the museum collection are Transfer Cards for: Daniel Jaynes, Henry Jones, Wiley Kinnett, Newell Morrison, Wm. Orem, Gustavis F.E. Raschig, A.J. Siebenthal, and Andrew Works.
#128: WWII uniform & picture, Robert Byron Breeck
Donated by his daughter, Jerilyn Van Winkle. Story by her husband, Earl Van Winkle.
Robert Byron Breeck was born the son of Leslie and Inez Adams Breeck on the 20th day of October 1913 in Lamb, Indiana. He passed away on the 20th day of November 1992 in Vevay, Indiana. He was 79 years and one month of age at his death. Bob attended schools in Switzerland County: Riverview Grade School and Vevay High School. 
Bob received his Pilot’s License at a young age. He wanted to work on and around the river and boats. His grandfather, Joseph Breeck, his father and three brothers Leon, Wilford and Bernard Breeck each held a Pilot’s License and worked on the river. Bob worked on the ferry boat at Lamb for a short while and eventually retired from the Jefferson Proving Grounds in Madison.
Bob married Geneva Netherland in Vevay in 1937. They had two children: Jerilyn and Norvin. He lived his entire life in and around Vevay and was doubly proud to call it his home.
Bob served in the 2nd World War. He entered the service in 1942 at 29 years of age and served in Europe. Bob worked in the Motor Pool and attained the rank of Tech Sergeant III prior to receiving an Honorable Discharge from the United States Army in 1945.
Bob was both fascinated and gifted with making things work like new. He had a sharp mind relative to mechanics. He kept the Courthouse Clock in Vevay in running order for several years. Bob also built and sold Grandmother Clocks. He ran a small engine repair place for years.
Bob was baptized in the Union Baptist Church in Lamb, Indiana in 1933. He was a man of high moral character and was liked by those who knew him. He was a good son, husband, father, grandfather, and brother. But of his many accomplishments in life Bob was most proud to have served his country and be a good soldier.
Bob took his role as a soldier as seriously as his role of relationships with his family. Bob was most patriotic and would fly the United States flag at every opportunity. He fought for that flag and for the freedom it brings to everyone.
#129: Drum from the Fairview Concert Band
	The recent donation of the drum, a uniform and a picture from Carl Althoff and Barbara Dowdy preserves the history of the Fairview Concert Band and their father Dallas Althoff. The band in the picture was made up of local musicians in the Fairview community during the 1920s and 30s. 
Pictures left to right: Dilver Clark, Woodson Porter, Aaron Moreillon, Henry Moreillon, Fred Althoff, Dallas Althoff, Earl Moreillon, Floyd Burroughs, Otho Flinn, Alonzo Bales, and Darwin Seavers.
Knelling: Dilver Moreillon. Not pictured: Estol Long, tuba bass horn; Louis Blodgett, trumpet; Emerson Neal, clarinet; Dale Jarvis, Band Leader, trumpet.
#130: Irish Chain, signature quilt
This “Friendship Quilt” has flowers and signatures embroidered by 15 women, dated from 1891 through 1899. Made as a tradition of signed embroidered remembrances, a Friendship Quilt was created among friends. When a woman was leaving an area, their quilt became a treasured reminder of friends from home. Names on the quilt are: Eva O. Brown, Nellie Carson, Mary Shaw Craig, Julia Dufour, Camie Y. Golay, Lou A. Knox, Fannie Lamson, Isabel Lamson, Josephine E. Lamson, Rillie Norisez Mennet, Leonora Pleasants, Helen Shaw, Mary A. Jain Waldo, Julia F. Williams, and Alice Yonge.
#131: The Switzerland Steamer, document & picture
One of the most famous steamboats of the 19th century. Built in Cincinnati in 1854, this is the first steamboat brothers U.P. and Julius P. Schenck entered into the Louisville/New Orleans trade. The Switzerland was the first sidewheeler specifically constructed for use as a towboat, although she also carried passengers. She carried eight barges: U.P. Schenck 1-5, Vevay, Ghent, and Winfield Scott. In July 1855 she was rammed by the steamboat Fremont near Vevay, damaging two of her barges. Later that same year she was rammed by the steamer Uncle Sam near Natchez, Mississippi, and sunk. The Uncle Sam and the Mayflower came to the rescue. Raised and returned to service, she was purchased by the U.S. Quartermaster’s Department in April 1862 and was converted into one of Col. Charles Ellet, Jr,’s rams (Union gunboat) for use on the lower Mississippi. Col. Ellet was wounded during the Battle of Memphis and was transported to Cairo aboard the Switzerland, but died en route. After the war she was sold south to New Orleans. Her new owners retained her famous name, a rare honor.
Detailed articles about the Switzerland are in the museum files, along with a self-published book by Claude Brown, written in 1958.
#132: Parion Lady doll
Donated by Lovina Cotton Bakes (1879-1964) in 1935. Parion dolls were manufactured primarily in Germany from the late 1850s to 1880s. The body is made from fabric, the arms are wooden and the head is fine white bisque (unglazed porcelain). Known for the beautifully painted details, “Mary Cotton” has a delicately painted black neck ribbon with a white cross.
#133: Copper wine funnel
A thumb operated lever lifts a strainer in the middle of the 7” long, 5¼” across copper funnel used in winemaking. From the Swiss Settlement of Switzerland County:
In 1802 John James Dufour petitioned Congress to pass an act authorizing him and his associates to enter lands in Indiana on an extended credit, with a view of giving them an opportunity of introducing the culture of the grape into the United States. On the first of May, 1802, an act passed…Under this act about 2,500 acres had been selected and approximately 1,200 acres more adjoining. This land extended down the Ohio River from Hunt’s Creek to Indian Creek, and after the colonists began to settle there, they gave it the name New Switzerland.
#134: Wine merchant account book, 1822-1851
This account book belonged to Jean Daniel Morerod, one of the principal proprietors of the first vineyards in Switzerland County. The Swiss Settlement of Switzerland County, Indiana quotes from Morerod’s will: 
“And though it may appear singular to some it is my will and pleasure, that no costly clothing nor a costly coffin be buried to rot with my body but if I should die at home I wish my body to be wrapped up in a plain white sheet and put in a plain coffin made of pine or other cheap boards the cost of which shall not exceed two dollars and that the difference in price between this equipage of mine and that usually afforded in Vevay to travelers, to that place whence no one returns, be dealt out to those who shall meet at my house, to accompany my body to the grave, in the best wine that may then happen to be in  my cellar.”
#135: Vevay Brass and Reed Band
c. 1890, the picture was taken in front of the National Hotel, where the Laundromat now stands on the southwest corner of Ferry and Market.
Top row: Will Jaynes, Chas. Turner, Joe Waldenmaier, Will Downey, Joe Thamann, Albert Waldenmaier, George Cole Jr., Harry Shuff
Lower row: Fred Demann, Ed Stevens, Clarence Stevens, Charles Waldo, Prof. Max, Hugh Cole, Frank Brockschlager, Nat Fallis
#136: Wine bottles, 5 gallon
From the “Swiss settlement of Switzerland County, Indiana” by Perrett Dufour
“The first wine was made in 1806 and 1807. The quantity was limited, but it was very good in quality. The vineyards were enlarged each year; in 1808 the vintage yielded 800 gallons and in 1809 about 1,200 gallons...As early as 1810 the Swiss had eight acres of vineyard from which they made 2,400 gallons of wine, which in its crude state was thought by good judges to be superior to the claret of Bordeaux…In 1815 about 100 hogsheads of wine were produced…Five thousand gallons of wine were reported in 1828.”
	The original Swiss colony in Vevay was: Daniel Dufour and his wife Frances Dufour; Jeane Marie Dufour; Antoinette Dufour; John Frances Dufour; Susanne Margarette Dufour; John David Dufour; Peter Borallay, his wife & son Peter and daughter; Philip Bettens, his wife and daughter; Jean Daniel Morerod; Francis Louis Siebenthal and his son, John Francis Siebenthal.
#137: Vevay Post Office, 1927. 
Rural delivery, left to right by their cars: Rt. 4, Emory Peters (sub) & Ben Welch; Rt. 3, Perce Buschmann; Rt. 2, Leslie Littlefield; Rt. 1, Joe Danner.
On steps: Falba Lyons, Sara W. Hall, J.S. Wright (post master), Hugh Kincaid, and Louis Teats (carrier).
The building was originally built by the Vevay Reveille, back when type was set by hand and the newspaper was printed locally.  A Lodge Hall was on the second floor.
#138: Crimping or fluting (rocking) iron used to crimp ruffles, given by Josephine Ogle Mead. 
On bottom reads: Pat’d Aug 21, 1866. HEAT THIS.
On top: GENEVA HAND FLUTER, GENEVA, ILL.
Josephine was sister to Paul Ogle, daughter of William & Minnie Brockschlager Ogle.
She is a descendant of pioneer settlers Hiram and his brother Hercules who settled in Switzerland County in 1812 along Indian Creek.
#139: M. Brown general mercantile & opera house
Gone but not forgotten, thanks to this photo donated by Jerry Golay, with informative captioning on the back by Philip Golay, Jerry’s grandfather. 
Southeast corner of Ferry and Pike, now a park-like gathering place in progress and parking lot.
November -  click any small image to load the slides.
#140: I.O.O.F. Building ~ 120 West Main Street ~ Queen Ann Style ~ Built in 1900
The Phoenix Lodge and Indiana Lodge No. 126 pooled their resources in 1899 and made plans to erect the modern Temple that would become their home. Both Lodges held their separate meetings there until 1927 when they were permitted to consolidate and received from the Grand Lodge the original and grand old title of Vevay Lodge No. 6. It was the only building in Vevay owned by a fraternal organization at that time.
Over the Years
The first and second floors of the I.O.O.F. Building have been rented or leased to various businesses over the years. The Lodges held their meetings on the top floor. Currently the second and third floor are rented out as apartments and the first floor is rented or leased as business or office space.

Newspaper ads help tell the story~
Switzerland Democrat ~ December 1919
Mrs. Hammel has rented the room vacated by Wm. Pleasants Clothing Store. Mrs. Hammel moved her dry goods to its new location in the I.O.O.F Building.
.
Vevay Reveille ~ 1935
F. Deming of Owenton, Kentucky has leased the large room of the I.O.O.F. Building on Main Street and will open a large Five & Dime Store.

Switzerland County Reveille Enterprise ~ February 19, 1948
Bob Furnish opening shoe store in the room on Ferry Street formerly occupied by the Dry Goods Store of Mrs. F. E. Hammel.

Vevay Reveille ~ January 14, 1952
Vevay Silgas gets a big facelift in the Odd Fellows Building on Main Street. Ceiling to floor windows in two colors of Pittsburg plate will be installed. Plans call for a new entrance with a permanent canopy extending about three and a half feet over the sidewalk.

Vevay Reveille ~ March 18, 1976
Hilbert and Roberta Scudder purchased the Osborne’s 5 & 10 on Main Street including the building next to it occupied by Jeanne’s Youth Shop.
#141: Drafting set, military medals, belonged to Hiram Bakes
Also picture of Hiram Bakes with his parents, John Bakes Jr. and Clara Betts Bakes. (See item #15, about Clara being the first woman to vote.) 
Hiram Bakes graduated from Vevay High School in 1911 and from Purdue University with a degree in Civil Engineering in 1915, before serving in the Army Air Corp in WWI through WWII. He was honorably discharged in 1953 as a Lieutenant Colonel, Corp of Engineers, USAR. The history of the Bakes family dates back to the 1830s in Switzerland County and ties into the Golay and Ogle families.
#142: Time clock for the boat race, photo
Mounted on the flatbed truck with an umbrella to shade the officials, September 1951 at the Vevay Landing. Lettering on the side of the truck: Walter E. Gaudin Lumber, Vevay, IN.
#143: 319 Ferry Street ~ Italianate c. 1860

Indiana Reveille ~ Sept. 1860 
The two story and a half building adjoining Mr. Schenck’s built by Messdms Detraz and Tardy is enclosed and finishing touches are applied as speedily as the mechanics can do it and when finished look out for a millinery and fancy store that will eclipse all former establishments.

Vevay Reveille ~ Pen Picture of Today No. 7 ~ March 28, 1889
	Along in the twenties and up to the forties, where the buildings now occupied by Hall & Lewis and Z. I. Younge are, were situated small frame buildings. In one of these Dr. Joseph McCutcheon had his office. He came here from the north of Ireland and built up a large practice. Another one of the buildings for years was occupied as a millinery store by Mrs. Harriett Tardy, deceased and Mrs. Lucy Detraz…
	The building now occupied by Hall & Lewis (operated by Mrs. Wm. Hall and Mrs. J. K. Pleasants). While but two stories, they are about as high as the average three story building. Beautiful stone columns, with plate glass, constitute the front of first story. A neat iron porch extends along front of second story, and in center of building is a double arched window, presenting a picturesque contrast, and a beautiful cornice crowns the architect’s skill, and a metal roof completes the solid work and makes it secure from fire from exterior…
	The furniture of the storeroom is handsome, and embraces every convenience. The comfort of customers is provided for in numerous stools placed along the counters so they may sit while examining goods…
	Joseph Walton occupies the second story of the building with his photograph gallery.
 
Line of property ownership:
(Records are confusing concerning Lots 87, 89 & 90, sorting out ownership in relation to businesses. Small structures were replaced by larger, and lots were combined.)
•	Dalmazzo purchased the Lot 90 from John Francis Dufour
•	Joseph McCutcheon purchased from Dalmazzo November of 1830
•	Benjamin Detraz purchased from McCutcheon January 31, 1848
•	Lucy Detraz sold to Hall & Pleasants about 1870
•	Hall & Pleasants sold to Clendening Lot 89 in 1914
•	Clendening to William Pleasants in 1914
•	Charles Pleasants to William Pleasants, January 1920
•	A.J. Williams purchased from William Pleasants, October of 1922
•	Paul & Edith Lamkin from A. J. Williams, August 1946
•	Mike Danner purchased the furniture store from Edith Lamkin, 1975
•	Richard & Wendy Yanikoski from Mike & Anita Danner, 2009 
Starting with the ownership by A. J. Williams the businesses on this site specialized in selling furniture until it was purchased by Richard and Wendy Yanikoski. It is now Ferry Street Woodworks, where custom made furniture is the specialty.
#144: Presbyterian Church windows, now the Switzerland County Historical Museum
The church was built in 1860 on the original site of a Presbyterian Church built in 1828 on land donated by Daniel Vincent Dufour. The building was granted to the historical society in 1971 for  a museum.
The upstairs sanctuary is graced with eight stained glass windows with the following names in memoriam painted on the lower panel of each:
George McCulloch and Louise Maries McCulloch
Julia C. LeClerc, Louise LeClerc Knox
Julia LeClerc Golay
Maggie B. Heady Sieglitz
Isabella Titus, Vettie Owen
Mrs. Lucilla H. Jagers
Lewis Dimick Ward
Mrs. Zelie C. Grisard
#145: Traveler, surveying wheel
Originally from the Switzerland County Courthouse, this “traveler” was used to measure distances by counting revolutions
#146: Telegram to Mrs. Stella Gray
This telegram is part of a collection of letters, articles and documents recently donated to the historical society by Yulonda Lee Wilson Birge. Her grandfather, Marvin Wilson, Sr., lost his life aboard the U. S. S. Cooper on December 3, 1944 in Ormac Bay. A collection of letters Marvin wrote to his mother are part of the collection, expressing the angst and loneliness of a soldier while proudly serving. 

In addition to our Veterans Remembered display, many items not always on exhibit will be displayed until the end of the year.
#147: 314 Ferry Street ~ Italianate Style Architecture ~ 1895
From the Vevay Democrat, January 1898
In 1895 Mr. W. L. Fisk erected one of the largest and most modern architecturally designed store buildings in southern Indiana…The building is a brick, three stories and basement, covering a ground space of 28 x 75 feet. Its frontage is finished in ornamental iron, and provided with large plate glass windows, the name of its proprietor appearing in large raised letters over the frontispiece surmounting the front elevation. A series of iron columns, made in imitation of marble, support the center of the second floor and a large elevator affords access from one floor to another. The edifice is as near fireproof as man’s ingenuity can make buildings, and in its entirety it is truly an end-of-the-century business house. Electric lights afford the illumination at night, and the many windows with which the house is provided, flood the different floors with light during the day. 
The first floor is devoted to furniture, picture frames and similar goods. The stock is a mammoth one and embraces everything pertaining to an up-to-date furniture establishment. Furniture suited to grace the homes of the wealthier class, to that more adapted in price to the scanty pocket-book…
The second floor of this metropolitan house is devoted to carriages, harness and horse goods…The third floor is used as a storage for agricultural implements, farm machinery, and those things so necessary to the agriculturist.

The building served as the telephone exchange from 1938-1968. Calls went through a switchboard. Town customers generally had private lines, while those in the country had party lines. A variety of mercantile businesses followed, but none with as long a tenure as the telephone exchange.

The building has been well cared for over the years. It is the only building in the Vevay business district that still has the original porch. The Fisk Building sign is no longer there.
#148: The Claude ~ photograph
The Claude was a small commercial boat built by Claude Brown and his father, Capt. John H. Brown. (The point where Main & Market Streets meet is the John H. Brown Park, where the fountain now stands.) 
The Vevay Newspapers reported on January 31, 1954: 
	“The Claude was 60 feet long and of 14-foot beam, a sternwheeler powered by a one-cylinder gasoline engine. There was a big, heavy flywheel too – an essential adjunct to an old-fashioned one-cylinder engine.
	“Capt. Brown, the Claude and a crew of one started a business towing anything except passengers, upstream and downstream from Vevay. This was in 1914. The Claude did well. One day Capt. Brown met a man from the Moore Oil Company of Cincinnati and they talked of using the Claude to haul drums of kerosene and gasoline and lubricants up and down the river. John Edwrads, head man of Moore Oil soon made a deal with Capt. Brown. A small barge was secured and at last Claude had a steady job. The Claude was a shallow draft, about 18 inches and she operated through the busy summer months, making every landing between Lawrenceburg and Madison. She could handle about 150 drums and Capt. Brown prospered.”
#149: Teddy bear
Hazel Stoops Danglade (1904-2003) received this bear in 1907. It appears the bear was well loved. Hazel was president of the historical society from 1979-1980.
#150: Colonial wedding photo, theatrical event
The location, time and occasion of this photo is unknown. Yet the names listed on the back are from Switzerland County. Perhaps a wider audience will help us gain information.
Left to right:
Olive Trafelet, Gertrude R., Jane Allen, Nell Truitt, Irene Cheevers, Josephine McKay, Marjorie Barnes, Elsie Cobb, Maude Riley, Laura Lamson, Vetta Johnson. 
Children: Lois Cheevers (Rosenberger), Barbara Chittenden.
Seated: ?, Amy Detraz
#151: Delta Queen memorabilia	
Sandi Kidwell loved the Delta Queen. This is just a part of her extensive collection of souvenirs acquired on her many trips aboard the Delta Queen.
#152: C. Sieglitz’s Jewelry Store ~ Once at 303 Ferry Street, now part of the Main Source Bank building where the Community Foundation of Switzerland County is located.

Vevay Democrat ~ Illustrated Special Edition ~ January 1898
Mr. C. Sieglitz is known as one of the leading business men of Vevay and Switzerland County, a reputation he has earned by reason of the enterprise, honesty, integrity and straight forward dealings which have characterized his career since its commencement. His business is that of Watchmaker and Jeweler and his store on Ferry Street near Main, is a repository of everything in his line of trade for which there is any demand, the fact that is was purchased at “Sieglitz’s” being a guaranty of the worth of any article.
The stock carried by Mr. Sieglitz is large and finely assorted, embracing an excellent line of watches, clocks, jewelry, silverware and other articles usually kept by first class jewelers.
Mr. Sieglitz takes commendable pride in his growing business, and gives his personal attention thereto. At any time, but especially during holidays or gala occasions in Vevay, his place is a center of attraction, people being drawn there by the elaborate and artistic displays of the silversmith. He is an agreeable and obliging gentleman of pleasing manners and address and as universally popular as any gentleman of our acquaintance.

Vevay Reveille ~ October 30, 1975 ~ By Historic Landmarks Foundation
	Sieglitz Jewelry was founded in 1877 by Charles Sieglitz, who had previously founded a jewelry business in Carrollton, Kentucky with his brother, both of whom had come to America from Germany.
	Charles Sieglitz moved from Carrollton to Vevay, but his brother returned to Germany. Charles’s son Opp helped his father run the business for awhile, but then decided to study optometry, and for many years was a well known optometrist in Vevay.
	Charles’s younger son, James H. Sieglitz, then came into the business, and after the elder Mr. Sieglitz passed away, was the owner and operator of Sieglitz Jewelry until his death in 1973.
	(His widow, Mrs. Irene Sieglitz still owned the business and Paul Vernon Sieglitz, her son, managed it at the time of this article.)

Caption under store picture, from same article:
The Sieglitz Jewelry Store, founded in 1877, is shown in this 1890 photograph. At left is the store’s founder, Charles Sieglitz; at right is Charles’s son, Opp; and in the doorway is Mrs. Charles Sieglitz, and the child sitting in the doorway may be Mr. and Mrs. Sieglitz’s son James H., who operated the business for many years before his death in 1973.

The other photo is from when James and Irene Sieglitz ran the store.
#153: Bible, 1807
This over 200 year old Bible records the family history of the Clarkson and Dufour families, dating back to 1760. Other family Bibles in the museum collection include: Barkley, Bernath, Blodgett, Buchanan, Clark, Detraz, Edgar, Goldenburg, Gray, Kessler, Lamb, Lock, McCreary, Miller, Murat, North, Phillips, Reed, Rittenow, Schenck, Shadday, Smith, Stout, Sullivan, and Wells. Some only have the name of the owner in the front, while others hold pages of family history.
#154: Glass plate negative
16 glass plate negatives were purchased by a historical society member at the auction of Hazel Danglade’s estate and donated to the museum. Images include river scenes, the farm and family.
#155: $10 bank note
The Bank of Vincennes was the State Bank of Indiana when this note was issued the 7th of April, 1810. 
“Pay J. F. Dufour or Bearer Ten Dollars value received of him. Payable at their Branch Bank at Vevay –“
#156: U. P. Schenck mural 
Steve Bickis is the artist of the three murals on the east side of the “Life on the Ohio” River History Museum. When the historical society purchased the building from Dr. Findley in 2002 there were three large contemporary windows. We needed interior wall space so the windows were converted to wall. The exterior area was utilized for murals that helped tell the county’s river history. The other two murals feature the Robert T. Graham ferryboat and flatboats. For history on the U. P. Schenck check out item #131. The fine artistry of Steve Bickis can also be seen on map murals and other sites on the museum property.
#157: J. K. Pleasants Clothing Store
c. 1890, located on the south side of Main Street in Vevay. James K. Pleasants is in the foreground. Left to right behind him: Billie Pleasants, unknown, J. T. Lamson, Frank Dupraz, Dr. Chas. Gieger.
James Kirby Pleasants was born in Vevay, Indiana August 20, 1829, died January 10, 1914. Married Charlotte Singer October 12, 1854 and lived happily together for nearly 57 years. Had seven children.
J.K. owned a very large warehouse on the river bank and bought hay, grain, and produce, sometimes partnering with U. P. Schenck. Established a clothing business on Main Street in Vevay. 
“He was a man of quiet personality, generous impulses, and sterling moral qualities, a man of broad culture, well informed on the general topics of the day, appreciative of the best in literature and a sincere lover of good music.”
The Pleasants lived at the far west end of Main Street in the home later known as the Rosemont.
#158: Benedict Coal & Oil Co. office cubby
Dale Benedict ran the coal yard and his sister Thelma managed the office. The coal yard was located at the west end of Market Street on the river.
#159: Sausage grinder
All wood with the exception of the imbedded metal blades. Measures 17” X 7¼”.
Part of our Domestic Arts collection.
#160: Vevay Ball Team, 1922
From Hazel Danglade collection
Left to right: Jim Watts, Nelson Haskell, Porter Jividen, Edwin Pangburn, Ortin Banta, August 
Mead, Claude Dunwoodie, Ernest Mead, Edwin Ross, Anton Wagner
#161: Match safe with advertising
J. H. Barker
You can use a barrel of Tacks, but will not need a barrel of Money, 
If you trade with us.
Center Square, Ind.
#162: Moorefield School, c. late 1920s
1st row: Harry Crandell, Charles Clements, Raymond Shadday,   ?  , James Earl Crandell, 
  ?  , Dale Lee Andrew, Edwin Caplinger,   ?__
2nd row: Nellie Vernon Roland, __?__, __?__, Mary Charlotte Storie, Earlin Hart, Ryan Hartman?, Bernice Hartman, __?__, __?__, Mildred Weaver, __?__
3rd row: Marguerite Wolf (teacher), Egbert Jester, __?__, __?__, Bob Davis, Everett Jester, __?__, __?__,__?__, Thelma Joyce, Elma Joyce, Elgin Crandell (teacher)
4th row: Martha Andrew, Norma Lee Brown, __?__, Russell Jackson, Emerson Crandell, __?__,__?__, Ryan Hartman?, Hazel Caplinger, __?__, Miriam Hart
#163: Scrapbook page, Thanksgiving scene
The museum has a broad assortment of scrapbooks ranging from the late 1800s to the 1960s.
The content range includes Switzerland County news clippings, stories and poems, obituaries, postcards, prints from periodicals, and clip art. Some were purchased as blank scrapbooks while others made use of an old book, ledger or wallpaper book.
This “Thanksgiving” scene was from a scrapbook utilizing an 1850s Military Commission publication. The cover is so worn that the exact title is unreadable. The pages are thoroughly covered. The only page heading without something glued over it says “Field Artillery – France”. The contents date from the late 1800s to the 1940s. Perhaps it was started by one and completed by another.
#164: Knitting machine
This Home Profit Hosiery Company knitting machine, made in Rochester, New York, belonged to Sarah Goddard Smithson (1802-1889).
Yarn went on the spindle and fed into the machine when the handle was turned. Sarah’s husband was Joshua Smithson. 
Excerpt from Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County:
Carding Machine – The subscribers most respectfully inform their friends and the public generally, that they have erected a new carding machine in Vevay, at Joshua Smithson’s fronting the court house. Their cards and machinery being all new they have no hesitation in saying they will operate completely. From the experience of their superintendent they can assure all those who favor them with their custom, that their work will be done in a superior style and with great expedition. The wool must be clean of burs and all other trash, and one pound of good, soft, clean grease must be furnished for every ten pounds of wool. The subscribers are erecting a cotton gin which will be in operation in a short time.
Vevay, May 22, 1824     Smithson & Dow
#165: Robert’s Grocery ~ Aunt Jemima visits c. late 1940s
Clarence Roberts operated a grocery store on the south end of what is now Danner’s Hardware on Ferry Street in Vevay. Aunt Jemima appeared on a promotional tour for Aunt Jemima pancake and syrup products.
#166: Coverlet, Yonge family
Design known as Snail Trail & Cat Track or Snow Trail
Made in Switzerland County
Owned by the Yonge Family
Obituary of Alice Yonge (1864-1947): “Miss Alice” as she was familiarly known was born in Aurora. When a young woman she moved to Vevay with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Will Yonge, and the remainder of her life was spent in this community. Some time after she came to Vevay she was employed as an operator in the Vevay telephone exchange and she also served as matron of the Orphans Home which was operated in the Schenck house on the hill north of Vevay.
	Following the death of her parents Miss Yonge made her home with her sister, Mrs. L. W. Golay until she passed away. She then resided with her brother Will Yonge in Manning, Iowa, later returning to Vevay.
	Miss Alice was a member of the Vevay Presbyterian Church and was acting as its treasurer at the time of her passing. For many years she served as a teacher in its Sunday School and the perpetuation of this church was one of the interests closest to her heart.
	Years ago she became a valued member of the Julia Dumont Club and until recently was active in its work. She was civic minded and was eager to better the town in which she lived.
	Miss Alice spent practically all of her life caring for others, a service she performed cheerfully, willingly and without thought of self. She minimized the hardships in her life and was always able to see the bright side of any situation. Her infectious laugh and twinkling eyes made her the life of any gathering and her happy disposition earned her a wide circle of devoted friends.
#167: Boyle property photograph
Located along Bryants Creek, Posey Township, Patriot, Indiana
Biographical Sketch from Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County
John Boyle, one of the thrifty farmers of this county was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, in 1808, son of David and Ann (Furgeson) Boyle, natives of the same country. He learned the trade of weaver (fine muslins, silks, etc.) and was thus employed till he immigrated to America in 1828. He went to Baltimore after reaching the United States, where he remained about five years engaged in manufacturing (check cottons) and mercantile business with David Stillat. In 1838 or 1839 he came to Rising Sun, from whence he soon began river trading which he continued with success for five years, farming during summer seasons. He then began merchandising in Patriot, but sold out six months later and removed to his present farm, a portion of which he inherited by his wife, and to this he then added several hundred acres. He has ever since followed agricultural pursuits.
#168: Ring buoy and bell pulls from the IROQUOIS
The life ring is off the steam towboat IROQUOIS which ran from 1912-1941. Built at Dubuque, Iowa, she was owned by the United States Engineers. In 1917 Capt. William Wright was her master; Lee Blagg, pilot; William Handley, chief engineer. In 1926 Capt. Wright was still her master; James Stewart was pilot; Will Baer, engineer. In 1928 Capt. James Stewart was master. Capt. Leon Ash went master of her not long after this and remained on her for many years. Under Capt. Ash’s command she went from Marietta to Zanesville on the Muskingum River, going through Locks 1-9, reputed to be the last steamboat to do so. 
She eventually had the backing and stopping bells off the packet CITY OF LOUISVILLE. Scott Heatherington was her pilot for quite a while. She was a single-stack boat until March, 1931 when she got three new boilers and two stacks at the Howard Yard in Jeffersonville, IN. She was sold to the American Rolling Mill Co. on July 24, 1941 and soon afterward her name was changed to CALVIN VERITY.

The two decorative pulls are for the bells. The only role of the pilot of a steamboat was to steer the boat. The engineer controls direction and speed of the engines. All communication between them is through bells. Each bell had a distinctive sound and tone. The bell rung and the number of times rung told the engineer the direction and speed the pilot wanted.
Attention bell – Signal the engineer that the pilot wanted to speak with him on the speaking tube.
Backing bell – Signal the engineer to back or slow the boat.
Stopping bell – Signal the engineer to bring the boat to a full stop.

It is common on riverboats (even today) for the crew to take scraps of rope and make decorative items during their down time. The crew probably made these pulls for Capt. Ash as a gift. That is why they would have been removed before the boat was sold.
#169: Schenck family
Ulysses Phillip Schenck (May 16, 1811 - November 16, 1884) & Justine Thiebaud Schenck (May 29, 1809 – February 17, 1889) immigrated from the Canton of Neuchatel in Switzerland in 1817 when just children with their parents and families. The Schenck, Thiebaud and Von Buren families settled on the land that is the Switzerland County Historical Society’s developing Agriculture Museum Center. (Visit www.switzcomuseums.org for more information.) 
U. P. Schenck grew up to be a famed riverman and entrepreneur known as the Hay King. 
Proud of their adopted country, Ulysses and Justine named their sons George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and Andrew Jackson.
Of U. P. and Justine’s 11 children only 2 outlived their parents.
#170: Coca Cola “Refreshing Surprise” Santa advertising, 1950s
Recently donated, this 48” tall 3-D cardboard display was found during renovation in an apartment above a Vevay storefront on Main Street. It was packed in a wall amongst the insulation.
#171: Samuel Mennet home, Mennets Hollow near Indian Creek
The Mennets settled on land that was part of the original New Switzerland settlement in 1802.
Excerpts from The Swiss Settlements of Switzerland County, Indiana by Perret Dufour, from 1869-1876 writings (Book available in the museum gift shop, $29)
In a paragraph about the 4th of July celebration of National Independence in 1811 or 1812…”On one of these occasions Samuel Mennet was reader of the Declaration of Independence.”

“At an early day the manufacture of spiritous liquors was carried on in the County on a small scale at several points – about 1817 or 1818 Samuel Mennet commenced distilling on his farm now owned by his son Francis E. Mennet, with a copper-still he having a horse mill for the purpose of grinding the grain for distillation, what quantity was made by Mr. Mennet is not known.”
#172: Funeral Notice ~ Josiah Jackman
Funeral notices were printed and distributed as handbills in a community, before telephones, daily newspapers and the internet. The funeral notice or invitation served as the method to advise people of a death in a community, providing the name of the deceased, date of death, date and location of services and interment, and often additional details.
Approximately 400 funeral notices/invitations in our museum collection.
I randomly selected this example, then found additional information on Josiah Jackman in Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County.
“Mr. Jackman was for years a prominent citizen of Vevay, was a founder and machinist by trade, and enjoyed the reputation of being one of the most singularly ingenious mechanics of his day, possessing rare talent for the sciences and construction of scientific instruments, including microscopic and telescopic appliances.”
173: Harrison & Mary Anderson Roberts, photo
Obituary of Civil War Veteran, Harrison Roberts, from The Vevay Reveille, January 22, 1891
Roberts – In Vevay, yesterday afternoon at 4 o’clock, Jan. 21, 1891, Harrison Roberts, aged 47 years, 2 months, 2 weeks and 2 days.
Mr. Roberts was a native of Craig Township, where he engaged in farming until a few years ago when he moved to Vevay. For many years he had been a consistent member of Long Run Baptist Church. He was a soldier in Co D 93rd Ind, and was wounded at battle of Guntown, Miss, and as the result of this wound and exposure his naturally splendid constitution was shattered, and he has never since been fully in good health. He was a member of Major Patton Post, G. A. R. He was also a prominent and worthy member of Phoenix Lodge, I. O. O. F. Harry Roberts never had a vice. A man of decided opinions and strong convictions of duty, yet tolerant and considerate of the opinions and feelings of others. As generous as he was brave, as honest as he was truthful, as charitable as he was sympathetic, he was indeed a model man. In all the relations of life he did his duty fully and faithfully. He married Mary, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Anderson, who survives. They had no children of their own, but gave home to several children.
#174: Cup and saucer, belonged to Aunt Lucie Morerod Detraz, gift from her sister
Excerpts from the Dufour Saga by Julie LeClerc Knox:
Lucille Marguerite, the second child of Jean Daniel and Antoinette Dufour Morerod and the fifth white child born in the Swiss Settlement, first saw the light October 11th, 1806, and lived until May 3rd, 1903…
At seventeen she was sent to a boarding school in Louisville, Kentucky, for a term, which was then almost equal to a college education today or a trip abroad…
A zealous reader of the French Bible, she proved the Bible is the best of classics for she impressed one as a woman of knowledge and intelligence. All her life she was a devout Presbyterian and felt everyone else should be…
She greatly loved Vevay that she had seen develop from a few scattered log cabins in a forest to a little city with modern improvements…
…she was engaged for a time with her sister, Henriette Tardy, also widowed, in the dry goods and dressmaking business. It was then spoken of as a mantua making or modiste shop.
#175: Steamboat documentation for the United States and the America
Remembered as one of the most tragic river disasters of the steamboat era, the collision of the steamers the United States and the America took place December 4, 1868 near Florence, Indiana. 
The three most important documents in a steamboat’s career were a Certificate of Inspection, a Certificate of Enrollment, and a Steamboat License. The “Life on the Ohio” River History Museum has all three documents that allowed both the America and the United States to sail on that December night in 1868.
	Sister boats leaving Cincinnati and Louisville generally met somewhere along the Switzerland County shoreline. A combination of pilot error and weather changed a routine trip into a maritime disaster resulting in the loss of 74 lives. Close to Rayls Landing near Bryants Creek the America rammed the United States with such force that the latter burst into flames. After much maneuvering both boats managed to reach the Indiana shore but both vessels were soon ablaze. Detailed articles about the collision are available for reading at the museum.
#176: Snuffer
From when candles were the power source ~ The burnt wick end was called snuff, hence the name snuffers. The charred wick end had to be periodically clipped, hence “to snuff a candle”. Eventually wicks were invented that were consumed in the flame, so there was no longer a need “to snuff”.
#177: Vevay Times ~ October 25, 1882
Found amongst the Schenck Family Files with the accompanying note: Vevay’s version of a gossip sheet. A very amusing account of the wedding of Justine Ann Tandy, daughter of Harriet Schenck Tandy and James Bledsoe Tandy.
#178: Iron Betty Lamp
Various forms of the Betty Lamps were used in the 18th & 19th centuries. Made of metal with rounded sides, the lamp had a shallow reservoir with a lidded top that held the oil (rendered animal fat) and a wick would stick out of the end. It could be hung from a stand with adjustable links, be on a stand, or could be wall mounted. This lamp is part of our Domestic Arts collection.
#179: Tobacco tools
Raising tobacco is a prominent part of Switzerland County’s agriculture history. 
James Browning decided to honor his mother’s part in working in tobacco and put together this display of the tools she used over the years for harvesting the crop. Dorothy Mae Browning used the spear and club for at least 30 years and the knife for at least 40 years.
#180: 401 Ferry Street ~ Commercial Building ~ Federal c. 1850
Northwest corner of Ferry and Pike Streets
The Recorder’s Office at the Switzerland County Courthouse is an excellent way to discover the people that reflect the true history of a building. Searching newspaper files further helps put the puzzle together.
Line of property ownership
•	John F. Dufour divided Lot 59 into three parts: (1) to Francis George ~ Sept. 22, 1838, who sold to Joseph McCutchen who sold to U.P. Schenck 1868 (2) to Fred L. Grizard ~ April 30, 1840, who sold to U. P. Schenck ~ March 30, 1864 (3) Benjamin Detraz ~ Feb. 23, 1839 who bought an additional part of Lot 59 on May 11, 1847, then sold to Hannah McDonald. Frank McDonald sold his interest of Lot 59 to Joseph Peelman who sold it back to Hannah McDonald ~ Sept. 12, 1866. Hannah sells to U. P. Schenck ~ Oct. 15, 1868.
•	U. P. Schenck owns the entire Lot 59 by 1868, which is eventually divided into three parts again: (1) to B. F. Schenck ~ Feb. 6, 1875 (2) to Eugenia Eddy & B. F. Schenck heirs by Dec. 19, 1900 (3) to Corrine Dahmer, Eugenia Eddy, & Justine Zook & their heirs by July 15, 1904.
•	Corrine Dahmer et al to Eugenia S. & Horace J. Eddy ~ Oct. 4, 1905
•	Eugenia S. & Horace J. Eddy to Henry F. & Anna Dittgen ~ Feb. 27, 1928
•	Henry F. & Anna Dittgen to Emerson O. & Isabelle B. Williamson ~ April 14, 1948
•	Emerson O. & Isabelle B. Williamson to Henry F. & Anna Dittgen ~ Oct. 14, 1948
•	Henry F. & Anna Dittgen to Everett H. & Phamie Jackson ~ Jan. 16, 1954
•	Everett H. & Phamie Jackson to Joe & Mary Ann Ricketts ~ Feb. 11, 1959
The Vevay Reveille ~ Pen Picture of the City To-day No. 9 ~ April 25, 1889
	We now cross Pike Street and on the corner find a large, three-story brick building erected by the late U. P. Schenck, and which now belongs to his heirs…Along in the forties, where this house now stands was a two-story frame house, occupied by Mr. Riggs, dry goods merchant…When the present building was erected, early in the seventies, the corner room was first occupied as a grocery store by the late Isaac Stevens. Thomas H. Downey succeeded him, and here we find him in the store of his son Edward P. today…
	The room up the street from the corner is occupied by Mat. Brown and son Hugh as a grocery store.
The corner room of second story is occupied by C. E. Golay as an insurance office. 
  	The next room is occupied by Vevay Band, which is probably the best band in the State in a town of this size.
	The entire third story is occupied as a hall by Switzerland Lodge and Accepted Masons. It is a very finely furnished room. The Lodge has about fifty members.

The northwest corner of Ferry and Pike Streets favored grocery stores, bakeries and restaurants for many years. At the time it was purchased by Joe and Mary Ann Ricketts and converted to a jewelry store, the upper end of the building was the office for Vevay Newspapers. Rickett’s Jewelry, State Farm Insurance and Pam’s Scissor Talk are all businesses there now. 

Vevay Democrat 1901
	J. Kahn – The People’s Cheap Store – Ferry Street next to Downey’s

Vevay Reveille ~ 1909 ~ Downey’s Grocery is branch of the Kroger Co.

Vevay Reveille Enterprise ~ September 25, 1947
	Mrs. Emerson Williamson & Mrs. Joe Brady are opening a bakery in the building formerly occupied by the Dittgen Furniture Store on Ferry Street.

Vevay Reveille Enterprise ~ October 14, 1948
	Henry Dittgen bought building from Emerson Williams on Pike and Ferry Streets. The first floor Stacey Cole Gro. and Vevay Bakery. Second and third floors converted into apartments and work shop.

Vevay Reveille ~ April 1949
	B & R Café formerly Vevay Bakery will be complete restaurant serving seven days a week, days and nights. Mrs. Marie Brown – Thurman Roberts, proprietors. Dittgen Building.

Vevay Reveille ~ January 24, 1954
Mr. & Mrs. Everett Jackson purchased the Henry Dittgen building on the corner of Pike and Ferry Streets. Three story brick building is grocery store, formerly Stacey Cole Gro.
#181: Beaded cushion, 1905
This late Victorian Era cushion embellished with beads and tassels belonged to Ella Means (1878-1959), wife of Harry Means (1879-1943). Ella and Harry were united in marriage on October 23, 1900.
#182: Dr. Levin J. Woollen (1834-1909) & Mary Van Pelt Woollen (1841-1929)
Dr. Woollen graduated from the Medical Department of University of Louisville in 1857. He was a member of the Switzerland County Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical Society, belonged to the Free Masons and was an active member of the Methodist Church. In 1878 he was elected to the State Senate from the counties of Ripley, Ohio and Switzerland. Dr. Woollen was married to Miss Mary Van Pelt in 1858. Mary was a member of the Women’s Study Club and was a member of the Methodist Church. The Woollens had three children and lived in Moorefield and Vevay.
#183: Trunk & photos ~ Ruth Lydy
	Ruth Lydy was born March 30, 1896 in Sugar Creek Township, Clinton County, Indiana. Her parents were John William Lydy and Mary “Molly” Merrill. After a very successful career in dance both in the United States and Europe, Miss Lydy retired in 1941 to a farm on St. Rt. 129, one mile north of Pleasant in Switzerland County. She passed away in Bloomington, Indiana in March of 1980.
	News clippings: 
“Another surprising feature will be added to “Hanky Panky” in Miss Ruth Lydy, a dancer who will make her debut in Syracuse next Monday at the Bastable. Miss Lydy has been studying abroad and returned to America at the outbreak of the war. Miss Lydy spent two years in Petrograd, Russia where she was in the ballet at the Imperial Theater, and a year in the ballet at the Grand Opera House in Paris. She is an American girl and proud of it. She has no desire to change her name to either a French, Russian or Italian, for she believes in her own name and talent.”
	“Her ability as a dancer was discovered by accident last Wednesday. She had enlisted in the company as a member of the chorus.”
#184: Graduation 
Guessing Vevay High School
The labeling must have been done at a later date, as some names are their married names. No date on the photo, however through checking birth dates an estimated date is between 1900 and 1902.
Top row: Belle Stepleton, Bess House Knox, Mary Lamkin, Laura Halley Shaddy, Bess Reed, Jane Dupraz Wright, Alice Orem
Middle row: Burton Todd, Pearl Gridley, Aime Todd, Ame Sutterland, Pearl Haskell, ? Brindley
Front: Beryl Anderson
#185: Froe, belonged to Andrew Downey
Froes were used along with a wooden mallet to make wooden shingles, split timber and make planks, or were great for making kindling. 
Our froe has a story.
In a barn on Shiloh Road in Fairview, a bottle was discovered in a wall this past fall when Billie Pike was regretfully having to take down a barn. Within the bottle was a letter written by Andrew Downey in 1916 concerning the construction of the barn, the land and his faith. (Article can be found Vevay Media Group Online, 9/5/2014, “Message in a Bottle: Billie Pike finds history in an old barn”) We also have a copy of the letter at the museum.
Then Donna Weaver shared that during her house restoration they discovered Andrew Downey’s signature on the back of a baseboard.
Then when I was interviewing ladies concerning their Thanksgiving memories for the historical society column in the Vevay Newspapers, Juanita Detmer shared that she and her mother lived with her grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Downey, after her father had passed away (late 1920s). 
So when I was perusing the museum to select my next item for the 200 series and saw the froe once belonged to Andrew Downey, it became far more than just a froe. I took it to Juanita so she could enjoy the remembrance that her grandmother had donated to the museum so many years ago. I now share it with you. From Martha Bladen
#186: Fleming Siebenthal. Photograph
From Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County: “Flem Siebenthal, miller, Long Run, was born in Vevay, December 28, 1837. He was reared on the farm and in the mill. In 1864 he enlisted in Company G, One Hundred and Thirty-ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, a 100 days regiment and was chosen as captain of his company. His term of service was passed in Kentucky. In February, 1865, he re-enlisted in Company E, One Hundred and Forty-sixth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and was chosen first lieutenant. Served in Virginia and Maryland till the war was over. He was married to Sarah, daughter of John W. Howard, November 29, 1871, who has borne him six children, five of whom are living: Orleana, Bessie, Mamie, Edgar and Earnest. Helen, the fourth child, deceased. Mr. S. is operating a flouring mill, which occupies the site of one of the original mills of the county.”
#187: “Programme” commemorating President Garfield
James A. Garfield (Nov. 19, 1831 – Sept. 19. 1881) was the 20th President of the United States, following nine consecutive terms in the U. S. House of Representatives (1863-1881). He served as a major-general in the Union Army during the Civil War. He fought at battles of Middle Creek, Shiloh and Chickamunga.
Garfield’s presidency lasted 200 days, from March 4, 1881 until his death by gunshot on September 19, 1881.
#188: Culbertson Mill, aka City Roller Mill
	In 1819 Joshua Smithson purchased lot # 64 from John Francis and Polly DuFour for $90. He built a mill there, probably horse-driven. Smithson also had a carding operation and a cotton gin on the property. By 1826 the mill was advertised as the “Franklin Steam Mill”. The steam engine was built by Switzerland County residents Frederick L. Grisard, a blacksmith, and Lewis Golay who had served a mechanical apprenticeship in Cincinnati. Grisard worked the wrought iron and Golay put the engine in running order. Theirs was the first steam engine in Vevay, probably in Switzerland County and possibly in the state. Smithson bought lot #65 in 1830 and sold lottery tickets on $1,000 worth of furniture to raise money to enlarge the mill. (An oil portrait of Joshua Smithson hangs in our Professions section.) In 1838 the entire operation was sold to William C. Keen, a local newspaper publisher.

	In 1840 U. P. Schenck and S. B. Miller rented and managed the mill. Eventually Schenck bought it and added lot #66. Schenck’s main business was in hay and produce, with his own line of flatboats and steamboats. Because of his mill ownership, he now shipped flour instead of wheat to the towns along the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. The mill prospered and in 1858 was enlarged and remodeled.

	After the Civil War, Schenck sold the mill to John Gill who owned and operated it into the 1900’s. By 1910 it was called the Culbertson Mill, later the City Roller Mill. In 1990 the Vevay-Switzerland County Foundation bought the mill from Wildolph Truitt, the last owner/operator, for the purpose of restoration and development of heritage-based tourism. The Foundation was not able to carry through with their plans, and on December 16, 1997 they turned the mill complex, consisting of only four remaining buildings, over to the Switzerland County Commissioners, with no covenants. A group called Friends of the Historic Vevay Roller Mill was organized and efforts were made to find funding to restore the mill. Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana included the mill on its 10 Most Endangered historic sites list in 1999. The mill was demolished in 2003 to make way for the new county jail.
#189: Springfield rifle, Joseph Ramseyer
Joseph Ramseyer used this Springfield, Model 1864 US percussion rifle, musket caliber .58, while serving in the Civil War. Joseph was born February 28, 1842 in Craig Township.
Information from Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County: His father, Daniel Ramseyer, was born in Switzerland in March of 1799; mother, Martha Hawkins Ramseyer was from Kentucky. The father was a farmer all his life, served as surveyor, county commissioner, and township trustee. 
Mr. Joseph B. was a farmer all his life. February 1865, he enlisted in Company E, One Hundred and Forty-sixth Indiana Infantry and served until the end of the war; was mustered at Indianapolis and discharged at Baltimore. 
He married November 29, 1871 to Miss Catherine Howard, who was born in York Township, August 21, 1847, a daughter of Mr. John W. Howard, one of the most prominent farmers of the county. They had five children: Frederick, John, Clara, Edward and Martha. Mr. Ramseyer was an industrious, enterprising farmer and highly respected by all his neighbors. 

Joseph (1842-1928) and Catherine (1847-1901) Ramseyer are buried in the Vevay Cemetery.
#190: Vevay Public School picture, October 17, 1910
Top row: Nelson Wayne Haskell, Julian Waltz, Earl Corns, Roy Webster
Middle row: Roy McFall, Landis Brown, Ray McFall, Earl Herndon, Carlyle Childers, Roy Detraz, Oliver Wells, Averton Demann
Front row: Isabel Jackson, Hazel Stoops, Margaret Jones, Adelaide Lock, Lucy Lamson, Julia M. Patton, Virginia Gleason, Doris Dupraz, Maud Martin
#191: Works & Works Law Office sign
Harriman’s 1885 History of Switzerland County mentions Works & Works Law Office, and includes James A. Works in the Biographical Sketches.
James A. Works, attorney, (born 1820). He moved to Vevay in 1865 from Ohio County and has ever since devoted his entire talent to law. He was prosecuting attorney from 1856 to 1863 for Ohio and Switzerland Counties, and township clerk during his residence in Cotton Township…Mr. Works is one of the most successful lawyers of the Vevay bar. Of keen perception, and with an excellent yet peculiar command of language, his pleas are a rare combination of wit and oratory, and exceedingly powerful in their influence upon the minds of a jury.
#192: Engraved cane, belonged to Col. William D. Ward 
Col. W. D. Ward
37 Ind 
By his Comrades
Oct 9, 1889
Excerpts from his obituary, 1898: Mr. Ward was born in Madisonville, Ohio, Feb. 1, 1830…In 1858 he commenced practice of law in Versailles, Ind, continuing until August 1861 when he entered the army as Captain of Co. A, 37th Ind., engaged in battle at Bowling Green, Shiloh, Huntsville, Chattanooga, Nashville…promoted to Lieut. Colonel, and for two years afterward commanded the regiment. He distinguished himself at Stone River, leading his men, his horse being shot from under him, but he continued to lead them on foot. Then for weeks, he with his regiment, was almost continuously under fire in the battles of Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge, Atlanta, Buzzard Roost and Resaca. May 27, 1864, Col. Ward was wounded in the face by a shell near New Hope Church, Ga. After over three years of continuous service he was mustered out with his regiment at Indianapolis October 23, 1864. He then resumed the practice of law in Versailles. In 1874 he removed with his family to Vevay. (He was in several partnerships over the years and served as a lawyer until his death)…married Sarah J. Todd May 11, 1853, who died in Vevay August 8, 1877. Seven children…Col. Ward married Mrs. Tamar North (daughter of the late Mr. Jacob R. Harris) September 2, 1880. She was indeed a mother to his children, and it was a happy home.
Col. Ward was Past Master Mason of Versailles Lodge No. 7, and when he came to Vevay he united with the Lodge here. He was a charter member of Maj. Patton Post G. A. R. and first Commander of the Post. He was also a member of the Loyal Lodge, a soldier society. He was a member of the Christian Church, but more recently united with the M. E. Church…He was active in temperance work. He was naturally a philanthropist…
#193: Dress from the Thomas Armstrong house
The only notation with this c. 1870s dress is that it was from the Thomas Armstrong house. The Switzerland County Interim Report lists a house as Armstrong House at 2 Log Lick Rd. in York Township; Georgian design with an Italianate porch; c. 1861. 
From our Funeral Notice collection:
Died at Florence, Ind., July 4th, 1887, Thomas Armstrong, Aged 70 years and two months. The funeral sermon will be preached at his late residence near Florence, Thursday, July 7th, 1887, at 8 o’clock A. M., after which the procession will leave and proceed to the Vevay Cemetery, where the deceased will be buried with Masonic honors, conducted by Florence Lodge No. 27 F & A. M., of which Lodge deceased was a worthy member. The friends of the family and citizens generally are invited to attend.

Florence is in York Township.
#194: Vevay Baptist Church group
Parsonage on the left, corner of church on the right
Back row: Mayme Detraz, Maggie Jackson, ?, ?, Myrel A. Graham, Minnie Porter, Betty M. Webber, Mrs. Clara Cotton, Laura Lamson, Mrs. Si Furnish, Nettie L. Brown, Carrie Haskell, Nettie Lock, William Curry, Wallace Cotton
Front row: Mitchell Detraz, John Moxley, Willis Jackson, Webster Cotton, Andy Porter, Samuel Lauschner, Walter Cotton (superintendent of Sunday School), Mr. Jaynes, ?
#195: J. R. Holcomb & Co. Acoustic Telephone
Patented April 26, 1881, this telephone was an improvement of Holcomb’s previously designed acoustic telephones. In 1878 Holcomb invented and patented an acoustic telephone, a sophisticated version of the “two tin-cans on a string” kid’s toy, which, using no electrical transmitting or receiving devices – and thus not infringing on the Bell patents – allowed people to inexpensively talk to each over short distances. Cost $4 each and guaranteed to clearly transmit voices over a distance of one mile. 

The two in the Switzerland County Historical Museum collection belonged to Frederick and Zellie Grisard. Grisard’s business was on the southwest corner of Ferry and Main Streets, and their home was just a few blocks east on Main Street.
#196: Church to garage to 1st museum
This gable front, Greek Revival c. 1834 building started out as a Baptist Church. Reverend John Pavy preached here after being run out of Fredericksburg, Kentucky (present day Warsaw) for his anti-slavery views. His farm at Mount Sterling was an active safe house on the Underground Railroad. It was much later converted to a garage, and later yet became the first Switzerland County Historical Society Museum (late 1950s). It is now a residence at the corner of Union and Pike Streets.
#197: Stereoscope and cards
Stereoscopes allowed for a three dimensional view of scenes and vignettes, bringing views of foreign countries and domestic settings into homes throughout America. From the 1850s to WWI, the stereoscope entertained and educated, just as this one that belonged to Sara Hall did.
#198: Tater Bug School 1926 or 1927
Photo courtesy of Mary Lib Branham (Mary E. Means)
Row 1: Mary Catherine Drake, Clifford Lewis, William Bray, Earl O’Day, Leland Brett, Mary E.  Means, Cleone Leap, Frances Jackson
Row 2: Ruth O’Day, “Patsy” Clements, Basil Drake, Lelia Lewis, William Craig, Clyde Lewis, Ethol Brett, Helen Bray, Rodney Lewis
Row 3: Edith Covington, Ethel Brett, Anne K. Peters, Charles Peters, Louis Peters, Elmer Brown, Harry Brown, Teacher – Mary Shaw, Merriam Craig
#199: Soldier’s Memorial
The Union Forever
Company G
139th Reg’t Ind. Vol. Infantry
Regimental Officers
George Humphreys…Colonel
George M. Hartley…Lieut. Colonel
Wellington F. Howard…Major
Chauncey B. Oakley…Adjutant
T. A. H. Cones…Quartermaster

Company Officers
Fleming J. Siebenthal…Captain
Isaac F. Banta…1st Lieut.
Aime M. Golay…2nd Lieut.

Non-commissioned
Sergeants
1st Calvin Weaver
2nd George W. Haskell
3rd Frederick Stucy
4th Joseph W. Cotton
5th George B. Anderson

Corporals
1st Robert W. LeClerc
2nd Andrew J. Works
3rd Smith Redd
4th Irvin D. McHenry
5th Henry Fox
6th John R. McKay
7th Frederick Thiebaud
8th Aaron R. Vannatter

Company Clerk
William L. Campbell

Musician
Henry I. McKay

Privates: Alfred Bennett, Samuel Baxter, David W. W. Bray, Manuel Byram, Robert T. Cotton, Eli Cotton, James Coker, John Clements, Joseph M. Dufour, James Detraz, Fernando Damon, William H. Garard, Thomas Griffith, James W. Gardner, Thomas G. Gibbs, James W. Groves, Thomas W. Holmes, Robert A. Harrington, Timothy Harper, Silas Holdcraft, Michael Konkle, Michael J. Konkle, John A. Lock, Charles A. Long, Isaac McKay, George R. McKay, James McKay, George Moor, Samuel R. Peters, Peter Pelser, George W. Roberts, Henry Reding, John M. Sedam, Thofield Steward, Wm. H. Smith, Wm. Schievelbein, Nathaniel H. Scudder, John F. Truitt, Henry Turner, John Turner, Larkin Turner, George J. Taylor, Addison M. Works, John W. Wright, David West, Rodolph Wiseman, Wm. W. Withrow

Mustered into U. S. Service
June 6th 1864
By S. M. Harrison, 1st Lieut. 5th Artillery
At Camp Carrington, Indianapolis, Ind.
#200: Switzerland County Courthouse weathervane
The metal parts pictured are from the weathervane on Switzerland County’s original courthouse, built by John Tandy of Gallatin County, KY at a sum of $1,705. Construction began in 1814 and was not completed until two years later. It was the first brick building in the town and was 36 X 32 feet and two stories high. 
At a cost of $29,724.90 the present day Switzerland County Courthouse (without annex) was completed in October of 1864 (150th anniversary!).
December -  click any small image to load the slides.